We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hike but Small Parking Lot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wahclella Falls

Wahclella Falls
50 min outside Portland near Hood River, Portland, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 586 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hike but Small Parking Lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We enjoyed this pleasant hike which had nice scenery. Although the trail was not crowded, the parking lot is very small. Because the lot was full when we arrived around 11:15 on a Friday in August, we parked in the Tooth Rock Trailhead parking lot and walked along the road back to the Wahclella Falls parking lot which definitely added to the length of the walk. There were cars parked along the road between the two parking lots so I guess that is acceptable. It is nice to combine the Wahclella Falls hike with a visit to Bonneville Dam.

We passed one group that appeared to be there on a college class outing/lecture. Near the falls we sat on some rocks and ate the sandwiches we brought and some others were doing the same.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Hike, Nice Waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A relatively easy trail of about 1 1/2 miles takes you along Tanner Creek and ultimately bring you to Wahclella Falls. It's quite an impressive waterfall that I think is worth seeing. On the way back (if you loop vs backtrack) there's another gentle cascade that's picturesque. The trail has some steep parts but nothing terrible. There is a port-a-john at the trail head. Might be a parking fee, but since I wasn't leading our group, I didn't pay attention.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The perfect short Gorge hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This short hike has it all--beautiful babbling stream, waterfalls, shade, sun, beautiful high fern and moss covered rock walls, and even salmon swimming upstream to spawn. The final waterfall spills beautifully from a crack in the rocky walls into a lovely pond, making tons of mist that sparkles in the sunlight. A total wow!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A fairly easy hike with some uneven terrain. We hiked it in our flip flops but maybe should have had runners. The fork in the road is a loop that takes you to the falls & around the river. Have $5 cash to pay for parking. Definitely worth stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A relatively easy hike (was not the easiest for my 73 yr old mother). The parking lot is relatively small, and we definitely didn't have the trail to ourselves, but it was still a great find.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahclella Falls also viewed

 

Been to Wahclella Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wahclella Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.