We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber...uber” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EastBurn

EastBurn
1800 East Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #832 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: SE 18th
Transit: 20th and E. Burnside Street.
Description: EastBurn is a Public House where Portlanders gather to share honest food, inspired drinks and hospitality in a fun and relaxing atmosphere. Dinner and Brunch are not to be missed. Chef Joseph Dougherty creates dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive and playful. We do a fantastic Happy Hour food menu until 6pm and from 10pm until close. Daily drink specials pull from 19 rotating taps, cocktails featuring locally distilled spirits and 15 wines by the glass from our nitrogen wine keeper. Seek out the courtyard patio, with mosaic fire-tables, swinging chairs, a dart-board, heaters and a closeable roof for year round enjoyment. Test your Skeeball skills in the downstairs Tap Room, find a perfect song on the jukebox or dance to a great DJ. Looking to host a private party or meeting? We have space to accommodate groups of all sizes. Our events annex is great for dinners parties up to 25 and cocktail style receptions for up to 40 people.
Oregon
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Uber...uber”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had an amazing uber sandwich with great fries and a superb Porter to top it off for my kid's bd celebration! Great happy hour too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great breakfast with only a short wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Typically on holiday weekends the wait time in Portland for breakfast exceeds an hour and I'm never willing to wait. At East Burn we waited about 20 minutes and had an excellent breakfast with all the typical salmon and Portland favorites with a tasteful EB twist.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool Gastro Pub in NE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went here for dinner on a Friday night. Surprisingly we didn't have to wait long and the service and the food was good. The menu was eclectic and the prices are very reasonable! Sit in the patio where tables have swings! Yes swing seats! Very cool and hip east side pub. Live music was setting up as we were leaving :/ . Next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Fabulous Food and Creative Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was my first dinner in Portland and I loved it. I was there in time for their happy hour specials, which were wonderful. I tried the fried calamari and a portobello sandwich, and both were phenomenal. I remember the calamari having a wonderful sauce drizzled over it that was different than I have had before and it was delightful. The atmosphere was also nice, casual lighting and creative artwork on the walls. It also had a large patio incase you enjoy outdoor dinning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quirky "Gastropub"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a great find for late(ish) dining on the east side of Portland. We like good food, but if we've just come out of a movie at 9pm, not much is open.

The menu here isn't extensive, but had some real gems on it. I enjoyed the beet salad and the meatloaf (!) which was certainly not *my* mother's recipe!

What made it extra nice on this quiet Tuesday or Wednesday night (can't recall) was the ever-changing group of musicians playing Irish fiddle tunes over in a corner. It wasn't a big performance, not even a real Céilidh (music party), just a step above a practice session, but very nice.

We look forward to heading there again soon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EastBurn also viewed

 

Been to EastBurn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EastBurn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.