We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ox Restaurant

Ox Restaurant
2225 NE Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Portland, OR 97212
503-284-3366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Post Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Ox is really a wonderful place!

The appetizers were wonderful...loved the crab avocado bruschetta and also the ricotta & mushroom dish.

We all enjoyed the skirt steak, the short ribs & the chorizo. And the chimichurri was delicious.

Loved the side dishes especially the gratin.

The service was great...attentive, helpful and friendly. The interior was wonderful...cozy yet modern and open.

We had an amazing dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hoped for Much Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We anticipated the wait and we were prepared to wait the 95 minutes on a Tuesday evening. The very nice hostess took our cell phone number and we ventured to their bar next door. It was packed and we walked up to the two bartenders and waited for 15 minutes for them to serve us. They made no attempt to acknowledge us so we walked down the street to Russell Street BBQ for drinks. (Super friendly folks and delicious drinks)
We waited for the call which never came in even after the wait time quoted.
We ventured back to Ox and the hostess seated us at the bar. We did not anticipate waiting for that long, only to be seated at the bar and to be served by the bartender. The bartender was good but not very personable and certainly not a food server.
We ordered the meat platter for two that came with a salad. The meats were delicious and the salad was small and uneventful.
We also ordered what we thought was a bottle of wine, but ended up being their own thick glass wine bottle that the wine was decantered in. It was way short of 750ml. Humm....
Portland has many fantastic restaurants and I don't believe we will be back. We have spoken to friends and family who have dined here and the consensus is the same.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Although maybe not the greatest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We got there at about 5 and were able to be seated within a few minutes. There were some stellar items with the winner being the amuse bouche consisting of a roasted red pepper soup with chive oil.Wow! I would have much preferred a beer stein-size over the mini-demitasse it was served in. The salad was fine, the potatoes - incredible. Very little fois gras in with the mushrooms which were very nice on their own. I wasn't ready for the cauliflower which looked like it ought to be savory in a Middle Eastern way but was quite different. It went over much better with those who were prepared for what to expect. Tasty, expertly prepared, gorgeously presented halibut completed the evening. Skip the house soda which was bland with little fizz.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We got there at 6:15 on a Saturday night knowing there would be a good wait, but wasn't counting on 2.5 hours. No matter, we were in from out of town and this was the top place on my list. Went to McMenamins, had some beer and wine while we waited. Ended up being about 2:15 wait. I had the clam chowder (amazing smoky flavor) and my wife had the mushrooms with ricotta which were also very good. When ordering our whole meals the waitress made a couple good recs based on the richness of various dishes - definitely helped out. Dinner we got a ribeye and a lamb shoulder - both beautifully done. Sides of summer beans with goat cheese and a kale salad with buttermilk dressing and blue cheese. The kale salad was the biggest surprise - might literally be the best salad I ever had and definitely the best kale. If you go there do yourself a favor and get this even if you are not a huge salad person. The music was a little loud which didn't really bother me but be aware before you go. The seating is definitely intimate and we were about 12 inches from the couple next to us.

Overall I can see why this is one of the most popular restaurants in Portland. Great food, great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little meat with your meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This restaurant doesnt do reservations so we did a drop in early 5:30. The restaurant was full and the hostess told us folks lined up at 3:45 to dine!! At that point wait was an hour but she invited us to visit the semi detached bar next door for a pre dinner drink. We were only in the bar 10 minutes and had just recieved our drinks and started on a bowl of salted pistachios when we got called for seats at the restaurant bar. This turned out to be a great place as it was a warm night and the main dining room has a massive open firewood oven pumping out heat. Meat is the main star at this restaurant and everything else is ordered as a side. My hubby had the Rib eye 16oz and I had the skirt steak. The skirt steak turned out to be the better choice as it was tender and more flavorful than the ribeye which had quite a bit of fat and grizzle. We ordere the wilted spinich with wild mushrooms and foie ( delish) and the cauliflower roasted with Vinaigrette and raisons which I found over dressed and too heavy on the raisons. Dessert was Hazelnut brown butter torte with honey chamomile ice cream and honeycomb accents. Also very good. Service was great and the portions huge so we went home with half our meat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox Restaurant also viewed

 
Portland, OR
 

Been to Ox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ox Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.