We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Theatre

Bollywood Theatre
3010 SE Division, Portland, OR 97202
503-477-6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
Restaurant details
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
A TripAdvisor Member
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Read it's review in our hotel magazine at embassy suites.. Being n Indian and a hardcore bollywood fan, was tempted to try this place. We didn't know that we were in for such a pleasant surprise! You could never believe you are sitting in US while dining there! The ambience and food was so authentic! Ordered Thali and vada pav, loved it. Even my toddler ate daal rice just as if it was made at home. I took tons of pics of the place and sent to my family back home in India , it was hard for them as well to believe that it's US!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    38
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In town for three days, came here twice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were in Portland for three days and went to both Bollywood Theater restaurants. They are very different looking but the food is the same, fantastic! Between the two days the four of use tried almost everything on the menu, not one dog I especially liked the Kati Roll, and the Bhel Puri. My suggestion is go with a few freinds and statrt at the top of the menu and just start ordering and eat till you just can;t eat any more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting concept - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

It's not your typical restaurant - you order and pay first. And be patient if the line goes out the door- it's worth the wait. Their menu is not extensive, but all the dishes are very tasty. Chicken or vegetarian, you can't go wrong. Most of their food is served like tapas, small portions which you can share. They have also a few complete entrees which are served in round trays. Last but not least: On a nice day you can also sit outside.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy and lots of small plates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love this place, you can try so many things and not spend tons of money. They have a vegan menu that is amazing, and the full menu is awesome, and the workers are always happy to help you make some choices to get a variety. Our family just recently went a party of 7 so we were able to try lots of different things. The kids love it, the atmosphere is nice and laid back. We will keep returning. We go to the Alberta Street location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great cocktails, but food was a little salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The atmosphere at Bollywood Theatre is wonderful. The decor is great and the staff are super friendly. I had a gin and tonic while I waited for my food and it was really delicious. One of the best I have ever had. I had high expectations for my food. The flavors were really good. My only disappointment was that the food was a bit too salty. I had the pork vindaloo and my wife had a vegetarian dish. Both of our plates were too salty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.