We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And now for something completely different ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Theatre

Bollywood Theatre
3010 SE Division, Portland, OR 97202
503-477-6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
Restaurant details
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
Home
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“And now for something completely different ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place thanks to Tripadvisor, otherwise I never would have ended up in this area of Portland.

And boy, is this some unusual place. Really fits the 'artistic' neighbourhood where it is located. Atmosphere is great, in no small part thanks to its popularity - lines and a packed place. Food is un-American - small portions - but authentic. Surprised to run into something like this in the US. Definitely worth visiting of you are looking for something completely different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    38
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Portland food scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bravo to the chef! Great south Indian food, mostly meat based. Everything is tasty and good quality. Fun place to go with friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lots of flavor. Very hip in the decor and the crowd. Would recommend ordering several side items and sharing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredibly Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ordered everything on the menu and shared it with about seven people and a baby. There was a line, but it was brief, and the wait staff helped us get a table - which was awesome because it's a seat yourself establishment.

Though the food was amazing I encountered NO SNOBBERY.

Ok, so the food: the chili peppers were all flavor and no spice, the wraps were incredible, roasted corn perfect, my favorite was the okra. I would say just go with 8 people and order everything and pass each plate around the table and enjoy.

After the meal I walked around and showed my infant where I used to go to bars long ago - back when the Know was a safe place for all of the gender spetrum, and when Chez What still existed. I looked for old punk houses of my youth and saw that everyone now has kids. Fun. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jolly Good Indian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Ooh, the pork vindaloo was outstanding and the roasted beets were sooo yummy! We wanted to try all of the selections as the waiters walked passed tempting us with the orders of others. We loved the hot Chai which was heavenly. We will definitely put this on our list of "must do's" while in Portland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.