We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour

Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour
Pioneer Courthouse Square (SW Broadway and Morrison), Portland, OR 97205
503 703 4282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 124 activities in Portland
Type: Walking tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: In June the tour runs every day at 11am, but from July 3rd to September 15th, the tour will run twice daily, at 11am and also 4:30pm. Think of the tour as stand up comedy about Portland's weird and wacky history and culture. Sure to have you laughing the whole way through, this is without question the most entertaining walking tour in town! Come find out why local comedian Erik Kennon's Free Walking Tour is so much more fun than one that costs $20 up front! The Free Tour starts everyday at 11am on the sidewalk of SW 6th Ave in front of Pioneer Courthouse (across the street from Pioneer Square and the Visitor Information Center.) No reservation necessary! Just show up! The tour meets 7 days a week, rain or shine :-) Look for Erik, who will be wearing his signature neon green "Free Tour" t-shirt.The tour is about 1hr 45min long and ends in front of Voodoo Donuts, Chinatown, and the Saturday Market. You'll receive insider tips on restaurants and nightlife, and lots of photo ops! Your guide works for tips- you can be assured of the highest quality!
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Erik is silly and engaging - you won't be bored on his tour. Most importantly, he loves his city and knows a great deal about it. He is also approachable so don't hesitate to jump in and ask him questions. This is a great, lighthearted and down-to-earth tour that you shouldn't miss out on while in Portland. And don't forget: Keep Portland Weird!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Best walking tour ever. Erick is very funny and makes the tour very enjoyable. It is a must do.
We did the tour in a rainy day and even so we had an amazing time with Erick. He is very knowledgable and very helpful and the most important thing. V E R Y funny.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The most entertaining way to learn the inside scoop on Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We read about this tour on Trip Advisor. I highly recommend this to anyone the minute they arrive in Portland. Erik is a wonderful guide. He is full of fun facts and bad jokes ( very funny bad jokes) that make the city come alive to the audience. It is over an hour tour filled with historic detail and great recommendations about things to do and where to dine in Portland.Our family had a great time and this was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. So thank you Erik for the super job you do everyday.






Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

By chance we stumbled on this free walking tour of Portland and I'm glad we did, really entertaining and interesting. Eric was really knowledgable and showed us how fun Portland can be. A must if you're visiting Portland!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We decided to check out this free walking tour during our stay in Portland earlier this week. I was hoping that with all the great TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews that it wouldn't disappoint, and we weren't disappointed in the least.

Eric is an excellent tour guide who has clearly done his research on Portland. I'm sure that for locals, the info presented is pretty basic but for out-of-towners, this was good stuff. We would have never stumbled across the things he showed us, not to mention have had the backstories, the fun facts, and the humor to go along with it. Yeah, the jokes are corny, but that just makes it even better. Eric seems to really like engaging the kiddos as well, so this is a great opportunity for a family-fun outing.

The tour is free, but tips are appreciated so please remember to bring tip money along with you! General guidelines for tipping seem to be between $10-$20 per person if you think he did a great job or just whatever you can afford or feel is appropriate. He is fantastic, so whatever you can give, I'm sure he appreciates it! Highly recommend this tour -- we loved it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour to your Saves list