We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More info, less funny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour - CLOSED

Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour
Pioneer Courthouse Square (SW Broadway and Morrison), Portland, OR 97205
+1 503-703-4282
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The last tour of the 2014 season is Monday, October 20th. After that the tour will be closed until May 5th, 2014. Think of the tour as stand up comedy about Portland's weird and wacky history and culture. Sure to have you laughing the whole way through, this is without question the most entertaining walking tour in town! Come find out why local comedian Erik Kennon's Free Walking Tour is so much more fun than one that costs $20 up front! The Free Tour starts everyday at 11am on the sidewalk of SW 6th Ave in front of Pioneer Courthouse (across the street from Pioneer Square and the Visitor Information Center.) No reservation necessary! Just show up! The tour meets 7 days a week, rain or shine :-) Look for Erik, who will be wearing his signature neon green "Free Tour" t-shirt.The tour is about 1hr 30min long and ends in front of Voodoo Donuts, Chinatown, and the Saturday Market. You'll receive insider tips on restaurants and nightlife, and lots of photo ops! Your guide works for tips- you can be assured of the highest quality!
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“More info, less funny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We took the tour and although it was good, we would have liked more information rather than the attempts at humor. Maybe we expected too much and maybe other tours in Portland are the same. We did learn some things about Portland and saw many things, but it just wasn't what we expected comparing it to others tours we have taken in other cities. We did not feel pressured in any way to "tip" as some others have stated, but we did tip as he did deserve to be paid for his services.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    32
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Returning Spring of 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was lucky to catch one of the last tours of the season. Erick said he will start tours again in spring of 2013. This tour is about two hours long. Erik knows Portland well and is informative, very funny and can make great recommendations of things to see and do in Portland that I might have otherwise missed. Take this tour early in your visit to get the most out of your time!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Eric and his free walking tour were great. I would recommend it...great way to see downtown and learn more about Portland.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are after deep historical facts, I'm not sure this is the best tour. But if you want a good tour of the city with a really fun guide who knows a lot about the city, this is the perfect tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Eric provides a fun and intersting insight into Portland. The information was funny and quirky. Highly recommend this tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.