We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming retro restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slide Inn

Slide Inn
2348 SE Ankeny St, Portland, OR
503-236-4997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slide Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,627 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 24th
Transit: Bus stops on Burnside one block away. Minutes from downtown. Exit at 24th and East Burnside.
Description: A corner gathering spot serving Modern American favorites with a global flair. Set in an inviting mid-century modern inn. Chef Eugen prepares organic and local ingredients when available, with a great many dishes made in-house. Traditional favorites are served such as hamburgers, Mac n Cheese, house made sausages and unique Fondue choices, but it doesn’t end there. There are many options for vegetarians and gluten free diets such as GF Gnocchi. For brunch, Kaiserschmarrn, which was originally prepared for the Kaiser, can be enjoyed along with our gluten free roasted yam waffle with ground clove served with maple or ginger syrup. Another healthy and delicious option is our vegan rice flour waffle served with agave lavender syrup.
Beaverton, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Charming retro restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been there 3 times and each time was outstanding. On our last visit the owner himself waited on us. He was very attentive and not pesty. The décor puts you back to the 70's. Very relaxing. On street parking was not a problem. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Slide Inn is just a few blocks from my house, but we discovered it on accident when my wife was trying to get lunch at the well-known and delicious Screendoor. The line was out the door and the friends she was with didn't want to wait. Someone nearby said, "Hey, you should try the Slide Inn. It's just a block away." What a great find! We've been several times since. The food is incredible, with a varied and original menu. (I believe the chef studied in Austria!) The service has always been friendly and quick. The atmosphere is awesome. To me, it seems both quaint and hip at the same time. Plus, it's usually not crowded and there's no wait for a table. Another benefit is the Jade Lounge next door. It also has a cool atmosphere, great drinks, and talented local musicians playing several nights a week. Also, they use lots of fresh ingredients from their own garden! If your looking for a new restaurant to try, I definitely recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

It was my last night in Portland and it was decided to go to this restaurant as its been a popular filming location for shows such as Grimm and Portlandia. Wasn't I lucky! When we turned up, the crew from Portlandia were filming a scene and we were lucky enough to be in it! But this is a review for the restaurant and have nothing but wonderful things to say. The owner served us and was so gratuitous and welcoming. We ordered the linguine carbonara and fungi plus the gnocchi. Service was quick and food delicious! The lemonade was amazing! And you have to try and brownie! Melts in
your mouth! Best food I have had during my 2 week stay! Don't go to a restaurant chain. You really notice the difference when you eat something that's freshly made

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Kale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went for good beer and came away really impressed with the happy hour food. They have an amazing baked kale creation, like eating veggie chips. All the dishes were delicious, good service, nice to sit outside.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“I've eaten there 3x-food from the gods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've gone here 3 times now and and each time the food is excellent. It is a great location, close to downtown but far enough away from downtown that you can the Portland neighborhood feel. The food is great and you'll just have to try it yourself. Everyone else who has dined here says the same thing. The cook/owner Eugene likes to come out and say "hi" to people. Nearly and entire episode of Grimm on NBC was filmed here and the'll tell you about their brush with Hollywood. I've told people about this place and about 8 have eaten here and loved it too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slide Inn also viewed

 

Been to Slide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slide Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.