We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1889 SW 4th Avenue, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly Fourth Avenue Motel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #61 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Los Osos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location, nice folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently stayed in a King room in this Econo Lodge and found it to be in a perfect corner of town - a short walk from the Portland Farmer's Market, Keller fountains, waterfront, food trucks, easy bus routes, etc. The staff were always available to help with last-minute changes - they brought us a roll-away bed (comfy!) when we needed it at 10 pm, changed us to a larger room when we wanted it, and found real milk for my tea when I asked. There's a good-sized fridge to store goodies from the market and a microwave if you need it. Altogether clean, comfy and low-priced compared to other hotels in Portland.

Room Tip: Choose a corner King room off the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
14
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

we could not believe we could get a motel in so near to downtown Portland (15 min stroll ) for the price.
ok so its basic but the rooms are a ok size and have fridge,micro etc and are very clean.
breakfast is just picked up from reception and taken to the room.
there are food carts next to the motel with good cheap eats.
if you are on a budget we recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great hotel. Excellent location, close to restaurants and public transport. Very welcoming, knowledgeable and friendly staff, very clean room / bathroom and comfortable bed. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

For a family on a budget trip to downtown Portland, this was a good motel. Even with exterior entrance doors, we felt safe in the neighborhood. Having a fridge and microwave helped us save on our food budget. The AC was nice since it actually got warm in April. We walked from the motel to the Pearl District and to OMSI, each about a mile from the motel. There is public transit a few blocks away, but we chose to walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

As the name says, this isn't a Hilton. But the rooms are good sized and clean and even though it's on a busy street, it's not loud inside.

The staff is friendly.

Parking is extra-- an unnecessary way to make extra money.

All in all, I'd stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Shastina, Ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Econo Lodge was clean, well maintained, and quiet. The manager at the front desk was worth the stay! She was so friendly and gave us tips on places to eat that were tasty; as well as within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a new hotel with tons of amenities and fancy televisions, this is not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recommend this property to travelers looking to sleep in a central location without spending a lot of money for that convenience.

I've stayed at this property on several occasions over the past five years, and I appreciate the good value for money: I booked a non-smoking Queen at a AAA-discounted rate of $71/night. I requested a second-floor room to eliminate any noise from above. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. The January chill necessitated use of the heater, which I ran on low whenever I was in the room. WiFi was fast and reliable. The bathroom didn't present any challenges: plenty of room to maneuver, decent lighting, and plenty of space on the spink for toiletries. Good water pressure in the shower. The towels were of good-quality motel variety (not fluffy but also not sandpaper-y -- just right).

The Portland Streetcar, Green/Yellow MAX lines, and several bus lines are each a short walk from the motel (I've never used a car in Portland, so I can't speak of the parking at the motel).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1889 SW 4th Avenue, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly Fourth Avenue Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hotel Portland
Econo Lodge Portland
Portland Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.