We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean rooms and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nordic Motel to your Saves list
Nordic Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   11942 NE Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 133 Hotels in Portland
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super clean rooms and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

About a 15 minute drive to downtown, close to the airport. Great value, really clean rooms one of the cleanest motel we have ever stayed at, powerfull shower! Helpful staff, next time We are in Portland we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
39
22
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The owner is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very clean with a flatscreen TV, fridge and HD channels including HBO. The location is very close to the airport and the interstate. The only downside is the walls are a little thin and there are train tracks nearby so it can be a little loud.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The room was clean, rudimentary and tiny. The staff was exceptionally nice and completely helpful. The walls were thin so that outside noises could be heard (including trains, planes and cars) but the neighbors were all quite quiet.

However, the neighborhood is dicey at best and some of the patrons at the hotel (some of who looked long-term) made me a little uncomfortable. It definitely felt "low-rent" and I was edgy while staying there. I think it would be fine for couples and families and big broad guys traveling alone. But for me, a small woman who happened to be traveling solo -- I don't think I'll stay there again.

But the price was right!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We (2 adults, a 6yo and a 9yo) spent 5 nights here visiting friends in Portland and Hillsboro, and we were very satisfied. Finding a place with separate bedrooms -- divided by a door no less -- for under $100 a night is a real find. Include the full functioning kitchen and free parking and we were sold.

We caught on through other reviews that the kitchen doesn't include pots, pans, dishes, etc. we arranged with a friend to borrow the basics, and it was fantastic having a full size fridge, oven, stove, and microwave. We saved a fortune on eating out.

Also, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and definitely a cut above what you think of when you imagine motel beds.

We never heard a peep from neighbors, and everything was very clean. Our room was nonsmoking and smelled fresh. There was a security camera directly outside the room and there always seemed to be someone in the office and we felt very safe.

A little coffee stand is directly across the street and once I went for espresso, but usually got the free coffee in the office.

There is a really well reviewed breakfast place, The German Bakery, just down the street but they were closed Sunday and Monday. We definitely intend to go there next time.

The owners were very nice and extremely accommodating. They are always there to help when you need them.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, which was nonsmoking and further back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The proprietors are very friendly. The rooms are newly renovated and clean. Plenty of parking. Close to the expressway. I even had a good jog in the nice neighborhood down the street. Yes, I definitely recommend this place. It is a great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Rooms are very clean and well maintained daily. Nice people at front desk. Very basic room. Refrg and microwave were nice. Good value. What else do you need? Non smoking rooms. Rooms are clean rooms are clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Me and my sister made a visit to Oregon. THe Nordic Motel was recommened to us by my son. He had a woanderful stay there. Our stay there was just as good. The rooms are so big and clean. I recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Motel

Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nordic Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Motel is a diamond in the rough, the perfect for a place for a single night or even an extended stay. Located less than four miles from Portland's PDX airport, this is a clean and comfortable motel. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience."Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nordic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.