We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Morning for a Cold Statute” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portlandia

Portlandia
1120 SW 5th Avenue, Portland Building, Portland, OR (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 307 attractions in Portland
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Controversial 36-foot sculpture of a woman that is placed on a landing from the third floor of the Portland Building.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cold Morning for a Cold Statute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overblown attraction only one block from our hotel, if it hadn;t been a block away from our hotel it would have been a waste to spend the time to view it..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Statue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just drive by it or if you must walk around or eat across street at resturant that has a view. nice statue but that is allit was to me.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ONE OF MY FAVORITES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This statue is an amazing site. She sits above street level and, while many think she is homely, I think she is beautiful!! I'm not crazy about the Portland Building itself, but she is the saving factor for me!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What does Portlandia's gesture mean?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The joke is that although Portlandia is supposed to be reaching out her hand in welcome, she seems to be giving Portland the finger! Anyway, it's a handsome statue, so on a walking tour of downtown, try to include this.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

She's a real beauty but hidden among trees and buildings. You'd walk right by if you didn't know she was there. I'd love to see this grand statue moved to Portland's waterfront.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portlandia also viewed

 

Been to Portlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portlandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portlandia to your Saves list