We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wood-fired pizzas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Tribunali

Via Tribunali
36 SW 3rd Ave, Portland, OR
503-548-2917
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Tribunali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #317 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Portland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent wood-fired pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Using only fresh, Italian ingredients, these folks turn out a very good pizza. One of the best in the city, I think!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best pizza, the worst location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Pizza like Naples. The term is overused and probably incorrectly used most of the time, but I'm going to go ahead and say it: this stuff is AUTHENTIC. And it's delicious. Order a whole pizza for yourself. You'll eat it. The Margherita DOC is so good my friend and I lapsed into extended periods of respectful, maybe even ecstatic silence while consuming ours.

The place is narrow and crowded, but fun! Great bar, old-school pizza oven right out front so you can watch the action, and a loft if you want a view of it all. Make a reservation.

The place is hard to find (tiny sign, and the line outside Voodoo Doughnut obscures the entrance. Parking here stinks, but it's not impossible. The real issue with the location is...well, it's in about the least awesome part of the city, and you'll have to walk to get there.

You might not agree with me. After all, it's downtown, it's right next to Voodoo Doughnut, and Saturday Market is mere blocks away. If you think smelly sidestreets and a little grittiness and crazy are perfectly alright and even add to your city experience, feel free to ignore my view. Full disclosure: this Portlander has a marked preference for general cleanliness, and is averse to the pervasive smell of urine. So I park on the street after 7pm (when it's free), as close to the restaurant as possible. V.T. is totally worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sooo goood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Pizza is just pizza to me, but this pizza was extra delicious. I loved the oil that came with it. And I got to cut my pizza with scissors. I thought that was fun! I'd definitely go back again. FYI it's right by Voodoo doughnuts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great and real italian style pizza, same as you can eat in a good pizzeria in Italy. Prosciutto and salame are also good. Lovely place and service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great real neapolitan style pizza. The best pizza you will find downtown and one of the best in Portland. Great negronis at the bar as well.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Tribunali also viewed

 

Been to Via Tribunali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Tribunali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.