We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pinots” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willamette Valley

Willamette Valley
Portland, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Willamette Valley like an insider
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Small-Group Willamette Valley Wine-Tasting Tour...
Ranked #11 of 586 things to do in Portland
Activities: Wine tasting, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best known for its diverse agriculture, this verdant valley is flanked by the Coast Range and the Cascades.
Irvine, California, USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent pinots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This area was absolutely beautiful. Rolling hills and beautiful wineries. Reminds me of the way Napa used to be. It was not crowded (although we were there on weekdays), but almost every winery was open and they were all friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    90
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Twisted Willow bed and breakfast in McMinnville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Twisted Willow is one of the most charming bed and breakfasts my husband and I have stayed at. It is in the town of McMinnvllle in the heart of Willamette Valley wine country. The house is Victorian and surrounded by rose gardens and the interior has been very tastefully decorated with Victorian furniture. Our room had a a beautiful high bed and settee with a private bathroom that has a steam shower. The house is impeccably clean. The owner, June, is very friendly and helpful as well as an excellent cook. Breakfast was a feast that took us right up to dinner! She also has coupons for wine tastings, which we were able to take advantage of. We would definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Land of Pinot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

While familiar with Willamette wines, did not know that Oregon has some 350-400 wineries in the state! What a wonderful secret. The valley is easy to get around and offers some spectacular wineries as well as the small quaint family run operations with the tasting room in a converted shed. Love it! Ponzi has a gorgeous view of the valley, a beautiful new tasting room (I could spend all afternoon there), in addition to delicious wines. Our concierge recommended The Four Graces- which we thoroughly enjoyed. Biodynamic wines, friendly informative hostesses in the tasting room (thank you Emily & Kim for the tips). Sokol Blosser has a beautiful new building, but we thought a few of the staff were stuffy & not helpful. The manager that day did provide us first time visitors with information about not only their wines, but a few others as well. Durant poured some lovely wines with flair. Thanks Jim for ending our day on a high note! Definitely recommend visiting the Willamette Valley wine country!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bucolic views with great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stop at Recipe for lunch in Newberg and then visit as many wineries as you can stomach! The Willamette has some 200 to choose from, so you'd better be selective. There's lots of agriculture--corn, wheat, hazelnut orchards, along with grapes. A patchwork of products, and a beautiful area to spend some time in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved the Wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved touring around to all of the different wineries. Fun winding roads and good views. I would like to return again with more time to discover.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willamette Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willamette Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.