We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly nice stay in PDX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lucia to your Saves list
Hotel Lucia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Trip Advisor!
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fairly nice stay in PDX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here Memorial Day weekend 2015 with husband and son. The hotel has a modern feel, nicely decorated, though lobby is undergoing renovations. Feels a bit like a Vegas hotel on the inside. The location is the best part! However, it made valet parking a little dicey, as we initially wanted to valet but couldn't find a spot near the curb, so parked temporarily. We had a discount deal with free valet parking, so I wanted to use the option, vs. the garage across the street (for about $20 a day, they said). Our "double-double" room was not yet cleaned just about 15 minutes prior to check-in, which was disappointing, but they upgraded us promptly to a suite. Did not have a city view, just a view of the ventilation units on the third floor, so that was a detractor. Rooms nicely decorated with good bedding and amenities. No bathroom fans due to the older building, that was a negative. The thing that detracted most from the experience was all the noise - I could hear doors slamming at night, muffled hallway voices and running water from adjacent rooms. It is an older building, so to some extent this was expected, but it made the experience less nice. We did not try the Imperial restaurant at all.

Mainly, you pay for location. The hotel is nice, but not quite as fancy as I expected it to be. If I had a discount again, I might consider staying there, but would probably try another place downtown.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    104
    31
    16
    1
See reviews for
43
133
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel for the last three years while in Portland on business. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and professional and always eager to help in any way they can. The hotel is immaculate and in the center of town, within walking distance of shopping and great dining.

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are small in this boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We truly appreciate the loyalty that shines through your review. Our front desk staff works hard to deliver unforgettable service so our valued guests return to us. We can't wait to have you back!

Nick
AFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service is being served to one's expectations or beyond. The Lucia falls short of that. The rooms are small and this is not shown in the photos, as they are misleading. The back end of the hotel has a horrible view unless you're into staring at a red high wall. The staff try to be friendly but are a bit snobby and not very well trained in basic communication as I discovered when trying to be refunded for the incidental charges they levy upon one when checking in. Make sure your transactions are cancelled when checking out.

Room Tip: DownTown Portland
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent location, nice room with two baths, but housekeeping was poor and the wifi did not work over half the time even though we were only on third floor. Housekeeping was inconsistent, sometimes restocking the minibar, sometimes not, and showing up as late as 4 pm. We were there a week and our hallway was never vacuumed and always had little flecks of paper or something white. Nice, friendly staff and good restaurant. Hollywood celebrity photos as main art form I personally found cheesey, halfway expecting to see a photo of John Wayne or Marilyn Monroe or even Elvis.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Hotel Lucia in PDX. First of all, location is great. Second of all, service is fantastic (staff is super friendly). Rooms are nice, modern and spacious.
Deli serving breakfast (which is part of the Hotel) is fantastic too.
Overall, I would return and recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Portland.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a lovely review! We pride ourselves off of our reputable customer service that works to make sure our guests are 100% satisfied. The Portland Penny Diner is one of our go-to spots for breakfast as well, you can't beat their breakfast sandwiches!

Nick
AFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here during a west coast road trip we just completed. This hotel is very nice and located in the heart of things. Lots of shops, restaurants, and places to go see. The hotel is very modern and the staff was very friendly and professional. They had construction going on so their lobby was dusty and a bit messy. The downside of our stay was how small the king size room we had after the price we paid, especially when you have to add $40 a night for parking.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I assure you this is a rarity and we would love to host you again to deliver the service we are known for. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff and location. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Nick
AFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Lucia on the 18th of april , 2015 and were quite disappointed, especially considering the price. With tax and no hotel extras, the price was 330.00.
We asked first thing in the morning for a possible early check in, but were given excuse after excuse, until we were finally able to check in at 4pm. We were greeted by construction and dust in the main lobby, and it went downhill from there....
The room was extremely small but at least on the plus side the bed was comfortable and the room was fairly quiet. The bathroom had no fan in it, fogging up the mirror so it was unusable, but the real kicker was the shower head height. It was barely 5 ft high, and even my wife could not rinse her hair backwards... almost unusable- when we told the desk clerk he smiled and said "oh were sorry about that."
Just truly disappointing at the price point , for which I would expect something better than a motel 6 experience.....

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Address: 400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.