We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff that goes above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucia to your Saves list
Hotel Lucia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 132 Hotels in Portland
seattle
2 reviews
“staff that goes above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I travel so much for business and this hotel by far is my fav!!! Kind and accommodating, I look forward to coming back every time. From the front desk staff to the maintenance man who brings me water in the gym, seriously, what else could I want. Imperial is AMAZING with great food and the best drinks and bartenders.

Room Tip: If you want quiet go for inside rooms but I love facing out and watching everyone. Corner suites (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are so pleaseed to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Lucia. As a frequent business traveler you are keenly aware of the difference between hotels that do just enough and those that really perform. We agree, our staff goes above and beyond. Thank you for recognizing their efforts and for chosing the Hotel Lucia.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
26
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lucia for two nights. The location is great with two convenient restaurants on location (The Penny Diner and Imperial Cafe). There is also a Starbucks just around the block on 6th Ave. Bed was very very comfortable. Yes, the rooms are small, but the decor is modern and they are very clean. The staff was great and happily answered all of our questions and offered suggestions for dinner, etc. As other reviewers have advised- use the United Bank parking garage directly across the street. It's cheaper than valet parking ($20/day) and very easy to get in and out of. Would definitely come back to this hotel again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for the solid recommendation of the Hotel Lucia. We appreciate the time spent letting us know how we did. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting Portland.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We adored the Lucia! It was a popular weekend to be in Portland, apparently, as our first and second choices were booked. So we were delighted to find the Lucia! The room was elegant, well-appointed, comfortable, clean, wonderful!

The people at the front desk and the valets were very helpful. The decor in the lobby and on the walls on our floor was great. If you go, check out the interactive art in the lobby. It is a slide show you can touch and double-click!

Highly recommend! If we could, we would in here! LOL

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We may not have been your first choice but we hope, after your recent visit, that we will be at the top of the list the next time you visit Portland. We really appreciate the business as well as the excellent review. Thank you.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed there for a week in June 2014, having pre-paid the room through RocketMiles (if you haven't heard of rocketmiles, google it - it's incredible).

We arrived early and were greeted at our car by the valet, who took our bags and whisked them up to our King room. The valet and front desk staff were consistently helpful and friendly during our visit; offering restaurant and area attraction suggestions.

The room was on the 7th floor, facing the street. The size was suitable for two. Features included a very comfortable bed, full minibar, desk, coffeemaker, and flat-screen tv.

The lobby is well-designed and stylish, employing many of the standard features of boutique hotels (a limited color palette, curated art, and well-designed modern furnishings).

The location really could not be more perfect. Hotel Lucia is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. We walked everywhere - all the different shopping districts, the art museum, restaurants, theater, etc.

There are two places to eat attached to the hotel: Portland penny Diner (perfect for morning coffee) and Imperial (an exceptional restaurant and bar with an excellent menu).

A few caveats:
It's important to know what kind of traveler you are to ascertain whether this hotel is suitable for you.

This is an older property so the rooms are not gigantic. The King room we had was perfectly suitable for two people without kids

The bathroom, as others have noted, is small. If you're the type of person who needs a lot of room in the morning, this may not be the place for you.

Noise from the street is no worse than any downtown hotel in any other city.

Hallway noise is a bit worse. Sound carries really easily down the halls and is too present in the rooms at times.

I had two quibbles, personally:
As a boutique hotel, the towels are a disappointment. They really need to upgrade from the Holiday Inn level to a luxe towel maker.

By trade, I'm a lighting designer, so what I found to be incredibly ugly were the hallways. The light fixtures were all outfitted with lamps of very different color temperatures, creating a mish-mash vomit of flourescent, incandescent, and tungsten light. Not exactly what I was expecting from a boutique/designer hotel experience.

In all however, the few minor issues would never prevent me from staying there again. As I said, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review. We truly appreciate the positive recommendation. Thank you for your honest opinion regarding the towels. The Hotel Lucia carries top of the line Marcioni linen and terry in all of our guest rooms. The same linen and terry that you will find in the best hotels in the world, I am very sorry that you found the towels to be less than perfect. We will of course continue to monitor for quality and again, thank you for sharing your honest feedback.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location with a really friendly and helpful staff. Smaller room than I thought I would have (especially for the price) but the feeling of being taken care of at the drop of a hat made up for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. Am happy to know that our attentive staff more than made up for the smaller room. Of course, we have plenty of different room types. Would be very happy to work with you directly on your next reservation to ensure we match our great service with an equally great room.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent location. Staff was very helpful. Room was very comfortable but relatively small. The valet parkers are exceptional -- but still way cheaper by doing it yourself across the street. Pet friendly. I did not encounter any amenities (pool, fitness room) -- check to see what's available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
So happy to hear that you found the hotel's location convenient for your trip to Portland. Very nice to hear that our staff did such a great job of taking care of you as well. While we don't have a pool we do have well equipped fitness center and business center, available for your use 24 hours per day.

Thanks again for the great review.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here with my mom on our annual summer trip for 5 days in late June. This is a beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown. Close to the MAX line, it was easy to get to and from places around the city. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but not overbearing.

The deluxe double we stayed in was large. Our room was located on the inside of the property, and was very quiet. We particularly enjoyed the beds--they were very comfortable! However, the bathroom was incredibly small! (So small in fact that I was unable to bend over without hitting the door or my head on the sink.) It is a very old property with a European style, but the size of the bathroom was something that was tough to adjust to.

I liked the scent and comfort of the lobby. The exercise room located in the basement was also nice. (Hint: If you are looking for cold water to fill your water bottle, you can find it here!)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Address: 400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.