We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza In Pearl District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oven and Shaker

Oven and Shaker
1134 NW Everett Street, Portland, OR 97209 (Pearl)
503 241 1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pearl
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good Pizza In Pearl District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pretty cool little spot in the Pearl District. Picnic tables on the sidewalk and a huge wall of windows that completely open at the front of the restaurant. We enjoyed an Eggplant Parmigiana Sandwich and a Pizza with Sausage and Peppers. Food was served in a timely manner and was very good. Service was also very prompt and courteous. If one complaint, it would be the lack of local beers on the menu, especially with such a huge bar as a focal point in the restaurant. But, I would definitely go back to Oven and Shaker.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I walked by this restaurant last night after we had just eaten. Returned today for lunch and was not disappointed. The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was incredible. The service was a bit slow but very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Cocktails then pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The real gem here are the cocktails. Our party shared three rounds of cocktails. I tried the Pineapple Trainwreck, Honey Basil Collins, Dark & Stormy and Tennessee. The winner was the trainwreck, but they were ALL amazing and fresh. What a gem this place is for good cocktails!!! The pizza was quite good. A little pricey and small, but they are serving some unique stuff - try the Bianca with meat (WOW) and the mushroom. Avoid the Octo Pie.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is some of the best wood baked pizzas i have ever had. The prices are good and they got some great pizzas. The mushroom pizza was really good, but I was surprised how good the cauliflower pizza was. You definitely need to check this place out when in portland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Add this one to our list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Four of us (wife, daughter, son-in-law and me) stopped here for a weekend lunch/brunch before a theater matinee performance. Overall, a very nice experience and we'll add Oven & Shaker to our Portland "rotation" when we drive the 60 miles from our home for an afternoon or evening event.
We started with cocktails from their extensive (and inventive) list. Prices are in the $9 area, but all of our selections -- French 75, Dark 'n' Stormy and a Tennessean (George Dickel, Maraschino liqueur and lemon juice -- were very well-made and quite tasty. Our meal selections were mostly big hits, with just a couple quibbles.
Son-in-law asked about their "signature" dishes, and was told a spicy salami pizza with a drizzle of honey was one they are known for, and as it turned out, for good reason. The combination of spicy, sweet and savory was a winner, SIL proclaiming it perhaps the best pizza he'd ever had.
I went a more traditional route, ordering the Margherita with an addition of wild fennel sausage (I LOVE the flavor of good fennel sausage). The pizza was tasty enough and had a satisfactory amount of sausage, but it was a bit short of the best I've ever had. First off, the crust was overly charred from the 900-degree wood-fired oven I like a nice char on the crust, but about half the puffy edges were more like charcoal. SIL's crust was much better. A crispy thin crust is another one of my requirements for great pizza -- this was appropriately thin, but a tad soggy for my taste. And no char on the bottom -- we were among the first customers, so perhaps the floor of the oven had not had enough time to reach the proper heat level. Flavors were mostly very good; spicy but not TOO spicy tomato sauce, ample quantities of mozzarella and basil. But the sausage lacked any fennel impact -- could barely detect any seasoning, which was quite disappointing.
Other selections were a pork shoulder sandwich on a hearty Italian roll. The pork was nicely cooked and flavorful, but the sandwich was a bit dry. We mentioned this when our server checked back with us, and he promptly brought more of the garlic aioli when helped a lot. An accompanying salad of fresh greens was very good.
Daughter had eggs and cream -- a lovely, yolk-y fresh duck egg, with a cream sauce that enhanced the dish -- and a broiled grapefruit (with crème fraiche or mascarpone, don't recall which). It's a strange sounding combo, but it works, and was another of thee top favorites.
Altogether, a nice meal, and as we're big fans of Cathy Whims' food, we will most certainly be back. Its location is perfect for performances at the Gerding theater, just around the block. And there are numerous interesting shops in the area to make it a prime destination for Ladies who like to lunch and shop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oven and Shaker also viewed

 

Been to Oven and Shaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oven and Shaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.