We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gods fresh sushi at very reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shigezo

Shigezo
910 SW Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)
(503) 688-5202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gods fresh sushi at very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Benson hotel doorman recommended this gem. Happy hour all night. great prices service and selections. Fresh fish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Fresh and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Has now become a tradition when in Portland..
the Yakiniku Steak is outstanding, its evident that they use only the freshest ingredients.
We would recommend this restaurant without reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I got some sushi and soup. The sushi was excellent. I normally do not like Chinese soup. This soup was different and had a great taste to it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We tried Shigezo for dinner on a visit to Portland because of the good reviews we had read on Trip Advisor, and are delighted we did. I had the special chef's choice nigiri sushi dinner, and I can only say the chef made some superb and unusual selections. Everything was extremely fresh, and as for taste, only the uni (sea urchin) was slightly off, probably because it was out-of-season. I had a separate order of saba (mackerel) that was extremely fresh and had as close to perfect taste as you can get. The only slightly disappointing dish was a yakitori appetizer, which, while perfectly cooked, was bland in taste.

My wife and a friend both had the salmon terayaki dish and side orders of grilled asparagus and sweet potato fries, all of which were perfectly done. Another friend had a soba noodle omelet, which was as tasty as it was unusual.

We would recommend this restaurant without reservation. It was a great find!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I visited Shigezo during Happy Hour on a Saturday. Everything tasted great and we were very happy with the 22 oz beer for $5.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shigezo also viewed

 

Been to Shigezo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shigezo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.