We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest...Tastiest around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shigezo

Shigezo
910 SW Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)
(503) 688-5202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Freshest...Tastiest around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Been to many, many sushi places....Have to say this one is on the top of my list. The waiter Ross.... is the best! He knows the menu and the ingredients and advises you on all the great choices. He has all my confidence to always having a great meal! I brought friends from NYC and they can't wait to visit and eat there again! You must try the noodles! The broth is so yummy it makes me want to go there now and order some! Sit on the Bar side and get the happy hour menu and try everything! Prices are great and make sure you try the smoked salmon! YUM YUM! My goal someday is to have enough room for the wonder looking desert menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas, nv
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Homemade Ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Something for everyone. Service, ambience, street-side tables, sushi, local draft beer, tapas, and of course fresh Ramen. Recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We dropped in during happy hours which runs from 3 to close. They had great specials and good selections to choose from. I enjoyed the sushi and had a salad to go with my beer. We tried to go back again but just couldn't fit it in on this trip. We will go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Again good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Came back here with a friend. I really liked Koji, but it was too small to stay for a long time, so we came here. I know Shigezo is very crowded on weekend, but we were there on Monday night, so we could get the table right away (we had the reservation). as usual, we ordered agedashi tofu, tsukune, yakitori, quail egg wrapped with bacon, eringi wrapped with bacon, saba robatayaki, salad, curry udon, and fish egg w/ squid roll (special). They were very good. Saba must have been in season as it was pretty oily - too much for my taste although it was good.

We have not seen each other for a year, so we wanted to eat, chat, eat, and chat. However, the waiter came quite often as if to nudge us to leave, even though there were not many customers. Other than that, the service was good and the wait staff was very attentive.

I noticed this last summer but we were never asked if we wanted desserts. And this summer was the same. There were a couple of good looking cakes at the entrance, but we did not know about it until we saw them as we left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese izakaya in the heart of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I believe that this was the first Shigezo outpost outside of Japan. There is now a second location in Portland on Division but this one is the most convenient for visitors as it is close to museums and Powell's.

The highlights are the ramen and the skewers. It may be the best miso ramen in Portland and the other varieties of ramen are also very good. Skewers are my second favorite with the simple excellence you expect from a Japanese izakaya. We'll often get a combination. The curry is also very good but I prefer the curry at Kale down the street.

The restaurant is split into two large sections. One side is a bar lined with sake crates and many tables. The other side is a restaurant with many booths and tatami-like rooms. Either side is perfectly fine for eating but you can only get the happy hour specials in the bar.

As a proper izakaya, they have Japanese beers, of course, but also many micro brews.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shigezo also viewed

 

Been to Shigezo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shigezo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.