We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky comfortable hotel near Portland's Pearl District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Northrup Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Northrup Station to your Saves list
Inn at Northrup Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Funky comfortable hotel near Portland's Pearl District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Inn @ Northrup Station is on the edge of the Pearl District with many shops and resturants within easy walking distance (eg the excellent Paley's Place , just around the corner).
Its a new building , sharp trendy architecture , with parking , internet , and continental breakfast included in the room price......I paid $144 plus taxes in late March 2013.
My king-bed room was very well equipped , with a kitchen , office desk , 2 TV's , plates , cutlery , full size fridge , and even a dishwasher ! The decor is 'groovy' to say the least , with bright 60's retro-style colours in all the public areas and rooms.....I thought it would be intrusive , but in fact its quite refreshing. The king sized bed is very comfortable!
For the price , this is an excellent deal in a great location......you also get a daily tram card to use on the city's tram system , also included in the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room t the back of the hotel....the rooms facing Northrup St will probably have traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to offer our guests the best hotel experience and value by offering complimentary Streetcar tickets, on site parking, wireless Internet, and continental breakfast. We are also flattered that you referred to us as a new building. Believe it or it, our building has actually been here since the 1970's! Our owners, design team, and architecture were the masterminds behind the creation of the Inn. They saw something special in this building and restored, renovated, and reinvented it in 2001...becoming the Inn @ Northrup Station! Thank you again and we hope to see return real soon!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    185
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
157
292
37
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love the decor, the staff is friendly, the bed is comfortable and it's right in the middle of everything. I love it! What a great find! My favorite part is the wacky bight fun colors! The trolley goes right out front so you can get anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...and that you liked our new custom made mattresses! We truly take guests' feedback to heart...In fact, our guests helped us with our mattress selection! After testing out multiple makes and models (and months of guest surveys), we found our perfect mattress. Best of all, they are custom made from Oregon Mattress Company...a local business! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Portland!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

1-Clean (This is #1 for me!).
2-Large "suite" type rooms with kitchens and sofas.
3-Free parking (We didn't move our car for 3 days).
4-Walking distance to all kinds of cute shops.
5-Walking distance to great restaurants and cafes.
6-Walking distance to Good Samaritan hospital.
7-Streetcar stop is right outside hotel with free passes at front desk.
8-Front desk service was friendly and helpful.
9-Price was good for area.
10-When I booked online the decor kind of scared me but it was actually quite cheerful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third (top) floor so you don't hear the people above you walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Well of course you know, you can't believe everything you see online! ;) Your top 10 brought a smile to our faces as we read them out loud in the office, so thank you for making it so simple for everyone to see what we’ve worked so hard to provide our guests. Cheers!

Denise Stanton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the Inn @ Northrup for 6 nights in October and had a great time. I had a ground floor studio and it was spacious and well appointed. The rooms were also clean and had a full kitchen! I made use of it, cooking steaks for dinner. The location is fantastic, just outside is the stop of the streetcar and guests were given complimentary tickets for a 2 hours ride anywhere the streetcar goes in Portland. Nearby is a bus stop that takes you downtown, o the Pearl District and cross the Willamette River. There are also several restaurant nearby and both Paley's and Wildwood were wonderful. I ate at those place for both lunch and dinner. Breakfast is complimentary and had a good selection of bread, cereals, juices, fruit, yogurt and of course, coffee & tea. During the rest if the day the lounge has a permanent coffee station for guest to help ourselves and those yummy candies! To die for! Are available free in big jars brimming with the goodies. Would stay again for sure when I am next in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Steaks for dinner, salt water taffy by the bucketful for dessert! What could be bad about that? Plus, if you treated yourself to Wildwood and Paley's Place then you really came out ahead; those restaurants are both outstanding and within a literal stone's throw of the Inn. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back.

Denise Stanton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times. The location, service, cleanliness, and of course decor never fail. In fact we have reserved two nights this coming weekend.
It's nice to be able to walk to most things and for everything else you get a free pass for the light rail.

Room Tip: The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We have had rooms in various locations in the building; n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Well this is a change -- we actually get to respond to a review for people who are just about to come see us rather than those who just left! If you're coming back that must mean good things, so we’ll simply say we can’t wait to see you again. Safe travels to Portland!

Denise Stanton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. I stayed here for 4 days on business and loved it. Very cute boutique hotel with all the amenities. You have a full kitchen, a keurig with coffee in your kitchen, a nice desk area and sitting area and plenty of closet and dresser space. The room was very clean and quiet and the staff was friendly. This is the only place I will stay when I come back to Portland. I have tried a couple others in the area and have been disappointed. There are lots of shops, places to eat and a Trader Joe's in the area. As a woman traveling alone for business, I felt very safe. Free wifi and parking!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Great to hear you can't say enough great things about our great hotel and the great amenities, including the great Keurig coffee and the greater than great stay. While we go searching for a thesaurus, just know that we are greatly honored that you took the time to write this review and that you had such a great time here. See you again soon!

Denise Stanton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a great alternative to downtown hotels. With free parking, trolly tickets and a trolly stop just outside the door, one can get to many places in Portland without driving. It's in a neighborhood with many good restaurants and shops and an easy walk downtown. The rooms are very large with full kitchens, and the kitchen has all you need to cook a meal. Some have small patios. Spotlessly clean, helpful staff--it's a great place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing Northrup have small patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Quite right that the Inn is a good choice for longer stays. Sure you could eat every meal out (and have a wonderful selection to choose from within walking distance if you did) but it's really nice to have the kitchen and full-sized fridge when you need the down time. Thanks for the review and for calling out just a few of the great reasons to stay here. Cheers!

Denise Stanton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Northrup Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.