We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Northrup Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Northrup Station to your Saves list
Inn at Northrup Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop, Play, and Stay!
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is so clean and the rooms are huge. Full kitchen with full size appliances. The staff is attentive, and there is someone available for any question you may have about Portland. The hotel is right at the Northrup Station streetcar stop (By the way, our room was on the second floor of the hotel facing the street and we never heard a peep from the streetcar ever - not once, and we stayed 4 nights). We used the streetcar numerous times, courtesy of the hotel's free tickets. The breakfast in the morning was great - fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, cereals, waffles, bagels, etc. No need to go out for breakfast, even though it is nice to visit the local coffee shops too. The location could not have been better - we visited all parts of the City, and perfect for the cool restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here when visiting Portland over and over again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We have to warn you, if you visit Portland "over and over again" as you said, you have about a 72% chance of deciding to move here. It's a fact. A scientific, unresearched, arguably true but probably not fact. So just keep that in mind. Thanks for the review and we'll see you next time. And the time after that...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    174
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
147
280
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really enjoy staying at the Inn love the decor, the location and access to the Max are awesome. Love the salt water taffy. A couple of things that might benefit from some attention; water pressure in showers is lacking enough energy to rinse long hair. Communication between shifts. There was an issue with the channels we received and apparently the 1st person we contacted, and came to the room to attempt to fix, failed to communicate the issue to later shifts. So after our initial notification of the issue at 6:30 am the problem was still happening at 5:30 pm.
One of the front desk staff could lighten up his attitude just a little, while his service was prompt and professional, it seemed to have a snobbish air about it. We will be back because the Positives overwhelm the not so positives.

Room Tip: Street side is better because of the balcony/patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hmm, sounds like we missed the mark a couple times here so we're going to investigate and make a few adjustments. That said, we're glad to hear the pros outweighed the cons, but it's our mission to make the pros a giant boulder and the cons a mere spec of dust in the wind. And now we're singing that song. Thanks for the review and we'll definitely do better next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is an unusual hotel. If you like dull don't come here! The colours are bright and across the spectrum. Our room was huge with a kitchen, large sofa, chairs - as well as the bed. We loved it but its definitely not your typical hotel room. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast choices were beyond the usual fare with yogurt and fresh fruit.
The location is excellent with the trolley right outside the door (and our window but we did not hear any noise at all) and a short walk to some very nice restaurants and shops, its also very easy access from the highway.
Highly recommended - wished I'd done the review much earlier.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
This one time an entire busload of exceptionally dull people came to stay with us. They were in town for the annual Low-Sodium Saltines Convention, and, needless to say, they were entirely overwhelmed the moment they walked through the door. One of them nearly raised his voice he was so shocked! Also needless to say, that never happened. But you're right that this is no place for dull people, so we welcome you back any day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Inn at Northrup was in a great location for us. The service was great and the decor was interesting. I wanted to move in. Staff was nice, only problem was a room service lady coming in at 830 am, but I've had that happen other places too. If you want something a little different, that is still really great, stay at the Inn at Northrup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad to hear the girls weekend went so well; we're happy you decided to spend it with us. The Inn is definitely a bit different from the rest and that’s what makes it so special. Hope to have you (and the ladies) back someday soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I came down to Portland for a girls' weekend, and even though all the search sites showed the hotel didn't have any double rooms available, I knew calling would probably give us results, and it did -- they were happy to get us a room for (unfortunately only) one night. The staff here are really wonderful -- I think they know they work at a fun place, so they seem to have an attitude to match. We were all the way at the end of the hall on the first floor, and it was great, even with the streetcar outside, it was quiet. The restaurant we wanted to try was literally across the street from the parking lot, so that was an added bonus. My only complaint was that we couldn't try the cool-looking tiki torch on the porch, nor sit out on the porch to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea from the Keurig beverage maker in the room: it was pouring rain for much of the weekend, and the streets were flooded all around us. Ah, good ol' Pacific Northwest.

They've replaced the Tootsie Pops from my friend's first stay here with saltwater taffy, which is OK but I confess I was looking forward to the pops. The nice thing is that even if you miss breakfast, as I did, there's still some fresh fruit around, and you can make tea or coffee in the lobby and sit and read a magazine or paper there. I also really appreciate that they offer lotions and body care products that are paraben- and other chemical-free, that is an especially welcome touch.

Love the decor in the hotel and the rooms, and the beds are quite nice. It's great to be able to bring your own food and snacks and have a place to put them. I hope next time we can stay longer to take better advantage of it and the free streetcar tickets. And there will be better weather.

Room Tip: I think just about any room here is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We've been working day and night to find a way to control the weather, but alas, it has not yet come to be. Sorry about the rainout, but we're really glad to hear that everything else was up to par. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and helpful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is very cute. Updated decor that is way more fun than most of other hotels. Even the smallest rooms are big. The kitchen is great too. Beds are comfy - I slept on the pull out and even that one was good. The breakfast is amazing and the top terrace is great as well. If you're with a bigger group I would definitely recommend doing a BBQ up there. The location is OK but we still ended up driving or taking a street car (free tickets from the front desk). The local restaurants are amazing too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the first floor facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
You're very cute. And we're not just saying that. When the weather is nice we definitely recommend checking out the 3rd floor roof terrace, whether you’re bbq'ing or just relaxing with a drink. Thanks a ton for the nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Decorated in an art-deco meets modern style, the very colorful lobby and rooms worked beautifully together. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The inn is located on the edge of the Pearl District, right next to a streetcar stop that connects with just about anywhere in Portland -- no car needed. Numeous restaurants within a few blocks' walk. The breakfast at the inn was free and very good, with a wide variety of foods. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sounds like from design to dining the Inn met your expectations for a stellar stay. Thank you for the review and for choosing us. Whenever the time comes to visit Portland again, we'll have a room ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#23 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Northrup Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.