We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding funky lodgings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Northrup Station

Save Saved
You added Inn at Northrup Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 133 hotels in Portland
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding funky lodgings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Decorated in an art-deco meets modern style, the very colorful lobby and rooms worked beautifully together. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The inn is located on the edge of the Pearl District, right next to a streetcar stop that connects with just about anywhere in Portland -- no car needed. Numeous restaurants within a few blocks' walk. The breakfast at the inn was free and very good, with a wide variety of foods. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sounds like from design to dining the Inn met your expectations for a stellar stay. Thank you for the review and for choosing us. Whenever the time comes to visit Portland again, we'll have a room ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    156
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
139
247
34
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first visit to Portland and we were very satisfied with our choice of lodging. This hotel is conveniently located on the streetcar route, making travel around town a breeze. We parked our car in the lot and didn’t move it except when we took day trips to the Columbia River Gorge and Cannon Beach. The free parking for guests was a plus!

The King Suite had all the amenities we needed for our 4 night stay. The room was spacious, with a nice sitting area, desk, and kitchen. Décor was fun and contemporary. The bed was a little too soft for our liking, and the closet space was limited, but overall, the room was quite comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and also a decent size.

Breakfast was above the standard Continental, offering cereals; make your own waffles, breads, bagels, yogurt, coffee, etc. Seating was limited during peak hours, but trays are available if you want to bring breakfast back to your room. The wine tasting on Wednesday night was an unexpected treat and the snacks were tasty.

The front desk and housekeeping staff were very polite and professional.
The only criticism we had was the complimentary Wi-Fi…which didn’t work in our room. We told the front desk of the outage, but it still didn’t work with any consistency. Despite this glitch, we were more than satisfied with our stay and wouldn’t hesitate in staying again if in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The hotel definitely makes a great base of operations for seeing the city and the surrounding areas and we're glad to hear you had such a good time exploring. Anyone who happens to be with us on a Wednesday evening should stop by our wine tasting event in the lobby--provided you're of drinking age, of course. Thanks and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having lived in Portland for 27 years and making the annual pilgrimage back, we searched out the Inn at Northrup this time. I used to live in NW Pdx and found this place just a few walking blocks from all the action of 21st/23rd with its resturants & shops. The Streetcar is right outside and the Inn gives you a free pass, so its sort of a good way to orient the town by taking a ride around the entire route (takes about an hour). The rooms are 50's ecletic, large w/kitchen so you can heat up leftovers from the great resturants or stop by City Market (21st & Johnson) and take a meal back to the room. There's a large deck (weather permitting) to sit out on, drink a little wine & listen to r&r. also. The prices are great when you consider that it includes parking & morning lite BF. We found the guests to sort of be like us, a little dirrerent and friendly. So is the Staff. Have fun

Room Tip: You may want to see if you want a street side room to view the action. During the day its busy, at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Any praise from a local strikes us as a little bit sweeter than the rest, even though we love to hear it when anyone has a good time. But to us this means we've done a good job creating an experience that fits in with the vibe of our great city; one that both locals and visitors can enjoy equally. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first time in Portland and what a treat it was when we walked into the Inn at Northrup Station. It was cold and raining out, but the inn was so colorful and inviting it brightened our damp moods and set the tone for the rest of our trip. After a comfortable night sleep in a quite spacious room, the front desk gave helped us plan a route to see the town, gave us complimentary streetcar tickets, and loaned us three umbrellas. It is located in a great neighborhood loaded with restaurants, shops, boutiques, and numerous coffee shops. We only had a day, but when we return will definitely stay at the Northrup Station again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hopefully next time you visit you'll have a bit longer and a lot more sun, but it sounds like you made the most of your short stay. Glad our staff had a hand in your good time and that the colorful décor brightened up your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything about the Inn is very good: staff, rooms, location. It’s well situated on the Tram line in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood and nearby to great restaurants in the neighborhood and the downtown area. The staff was very helpful, providing great advice and recommendations on places to visit, where to eat, and how to get there. The room had a very comfortable layout with an outdoor balcony that faced the street. Because of the grading and the plantings on that side of the building, it was a nice outdoor space to enjoy that included outdoor torches for evening use. For more privacy (but no view), ask for a room with a balcony that faces the back of the building. Our room was quiet and very spacious with a comfortable king bed and a very well appointed bathroom. The sitting area furniture was comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. We will return to the Inn on our next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
One of the (many) things we pride ourselves on here at the Inn is our talented and very knowledgeable staff. The people know the city inside and out and can help you make the most of any length trip. Need a restaurant recommendation? Easy. A place to shop for art or clothes? No problem. A detailed map of everything you want to do? We can help you there too. This guest experienced it firsthand and we invite you all to do the same. Have a question? Just ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a beautiful, clean and very well priced property. The continental breakfast definitely surpasses most. The fun decor of the entire hotel is such a welcome Portland treat. You know when you smell clean carpets outside the rooms, the rooms themselves will rival in cleanliness. They are newly remodeled, comfy beds and fun atmosphere. Highly recommend.
Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Our housekeeping staff is made up of some of the best in the business, and it's not easy work making sure every last thing is perfectly clean and in its perfect place. Thank you for noticing and thank you for your review. Cheers to you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel due to a family emergency.They were so nice and accomadating. We had to extend our stay and they were very helpful. The colors can be a bit overwhelming at first, but then you don't even notice them. Breakfasts are really good. And right next door to one of Portland's best restaurants-Paley's Place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Paley's Place is a real treat; highly recommended for an upscale, local dining experience. We know you didn't come to Portland under the most ideal circumstances but we are glad you got to enjoy it just the same. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Northrup Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.