We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUSTANDING CHOICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Northrup Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn at Northrup Station to your Saves list
Inn at Northrup Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OUSTANDING CHOICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything about the Inn is very good: staff, rooms, location. It’s well situated on the Tram line in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood and nearby to great restaurants in the neighborhood and the downtown area. The staff was very helpful, providing great advice and recommendations on places to visit, where to eat, and how to get there. The room had a very comfortable layout with an outdoor balcony that faced the street. Because of the grading and the plantings on that side of the building, it was a nice outdoor space to enjoy that included outdoor torches for evening use. For more privacy (but no view), ask for a room with a balcony that faces the back of the building. Our room was quiet and very spacious with a comfortable king bed and a very well appointed bathroom. The sitting area furniture was comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. We will return to the Inn on our next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
One of the (many) things we pride ourselves on here at the Inn is our talented and very knowledgeable staff. The people know the city inside and out and can help you make the most of any length trip. Need a restaurant recommendation? Easy. A place to shop for art or clothes? No problem. A detailed map of everything you want to do? We can help you there too. This guest experienced it firsthand and we invite you all to do the same. Have a question? Just ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    162
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
142
262
34
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a beautiful, clean and very well priced property. The continental breakfast definitely surpasses most. The fun decor of the entire hotel is such a welcome Portland treat. You know when you smell clean carpets outside the rooms, the rooms themselves will rival in cleanliness. They are newly remodeled, comfy beds and fun atmosphere. Highly recommend.
Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Our housekeeping staff is made up of some of the best in the business, and it's not easy work making sure every last thing is perfectly clean and in its perfect place. Thank you for noticing and thank you for your review. Cheers to you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel due to a family emergency.They were so nice and accomadating. We had to extend our stay and they were very helpful. The colors can be a bit overwhelming at first, but then you don't even notice them. Breakfasts are really good. And right next door to one of Portland's best restaurants-Paley's Place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Paley's Place is a real treat; highly recommended for an upscale, local dining experience. We know you didn't come to Portland under the most ideal circumstances but we are glad you got to enjoy it just the same. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

For our first trip to Portland, we ended up very pleased with our choice of the Inn at Northrup Station. We really loved our room, especially how comfy the bed was, and ended up using the well-stocked kitchen area more than I anticipated we would.
The hotel is located between two great restaurant and shopping districts, Nob Hill and The Pearl. We enjoyed meals at Pastini Pastaria and Yama Sushi, and ice cream at Salt and Straw, all within walking distance of the hotel. The neighborhood is really pretty, and many people are out and about, which helped us feel safer when walking in the evening. A streetcar stop is located very close to the front entrance, and made getting around the city very easy. We rented a car for one day to explore the Oregon coast, but other than that, were able to get around using only public transportation.
One concern of ours before our stay was noise issues that I’d read about in previous reviews, but I would say we didn’t experience any above-average noisiness. I did hear noise from the streetcar, but it wasn’t any noisier than, for example, someone rolling their luggage down the hallway. Also, one evening I was woken up by an infant crying, but I think I’d have this same problem at any other hotel.
My one main complaint is having to pay for internet usage for the one computer they have available on the second floor, so we didn’t use it. The front desk staff was nice in printing our boarding passes for us, though. Also, a better selection of K-cups for the Keurig machine in the room would be a nice touch, but I feel nit-picky even mentioning that. Especially given that coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fruit are available in the dining area all day. The hotel provides free streetcar passes, free breakfast, and free parking which also helps add to the value.
Overall, we loved our visit to Portland and we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I think we’d choose this hotel again on any return trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Don't worry at all about being "nit-picky" about some of the smaller things that could have made your stay better. It's exactly this kind of feedback that helps us create a better experience for you and others in the future. So thank you for the balanced and honest review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would consider us for your second trip to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The good: great manager, good location (right on the tram line), good value, decent breakfasts.
The not-so-good: a room that stank (really STANK) of fried food when we arrived; the room was crawling with ants - hundreds of them; once we were moved from the ant-infested room, we were put in a room that had a door to an 'adjoining' room that was occupied by another family and there was virtually no soundproofing between the rooms (we could hear their conversations).

Although the place has been re-decorated and refurbished, this is an older (maybe 1950's) building and there are things that are hard to change - like soundproofing between adjoining rooms or ants (they are a problem in nearly every older building in Portland when the weater changes) or the size of the elevators (tiny).

The staff were great and the manager gave us a deal because of the problems with the rooms (which was nice) but I think we'll be looking for another hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that is not 'adjoining' with another room.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Well shucks, there isn’t much we can say here except that we're sorry the planets aligned in a way that caused so many issues all at once. We truly do our best, as the majority of reviewers have related, to offer the most clean, colorful, and comfortable stay possible. But it seems we missed our chance to impress this time and for that we apologize. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Save your money and go somewhere else unless you have small children that will enjoy the aweful color explosion. It's basically a holiday inn with hideous colored furniture. The location is not really that great either you'll only be walking distance to a few restaurants or shops.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Art and design are certainly subjective so we understand that not everyone will like the hotel's bright suites and colorful architecture. We do want to stress, however, that depending on what you consider walking distance there are literally hundreds of shops, bars, boutiques, and restaurants within five blocks of the hotel. If you're not sure which direction to go, just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Northrup Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.