We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Northrup Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Northrup Station to your Saves list
Inn at Northrup Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The neighborhood is very charming and with the streetcar and bus a few steps away, it's the perfect location for getting out and exploring the city. Free parking is a big plus. Enjoyed the huge bed and kitchenette. The room was very clean and the front desk was helpful with our questions as we don't have a smart phone to look up everything. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Smart phones are rarely that smart anyway... and nothing compares to an experienced local who wants to help you have a great time in our fair city. That's exactly what you'll find in our guest services staff, so we invite all of our guests to ask us anything, provided it's not TOO personal. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    185
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
157
292
37
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Inn @ Northrup was hip. You're greeted with explosions of color. Boasting local artwork and unique retro furniture, this place was so refreshing and bright. I was hoping the room was just as fun and I was not disappointed. Loved the room art. The furniture was comfy and fit in with the feel of the rest of the hotel. Kitchenette was nice but this is Portland so if you're not eating out at every opportunity you're doing it all wrong. Room was clean and stayed that way. I'm 6'4" so it was nice to fit in the shower but the pressure was a little weak. The bed was nice - lots of pillows! While I can sleep anywhere, my girlfriend is just the opposite but had no problems with the mattress. Noise sneaking through was her only issue. I see some complaints about the staff but we got nothing but help and smiles. Made some really excellent food suggestions! We had a rental car but didn't NEED it. This place is conveniently located. Your feet can take you to anything you might need, and hopping the trolley can take you to places you might want to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Retro-tel! We obviously share a passion for combining words, dear guest. And it seems we also share a love for bright, local art and design. And while we're glad to be able to offer full kitchens for guests who like to cook, we have to agree that eating out (especially in our neighborhood) is a big part of what makes staying here so great. You can use the fridge for all your leftovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Only stayed one night for business, but the accomodations were fantastic. Extremely comfortable bed. Very convenient to downtown and right on the trolley line. Rooms are very comfortable with all the extras.

Room Tip: You can get a day at L A Fitness if you need to workout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Like the person posting it, this review is all business and we love it. Glad we could live up to a traveler's high expectations and we look forward to having you back if our paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The decor is so bright that you need them! Very fetching though, and the rooms have almost everything in them that you could need - a full kitchen, two TV's, sofa, comfy bed, fridge, and balcony. Staff were efficient and Rosy the chambermaid is lovely and very good. Streetcar tickets are complimentary, the stop is right outside and it takes about ten minutes to get to downtown on them.

Room Tip: At the back is quieter than the front, though the streetcar rumble is (just about) audible from each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Plus there's nothing that says, "I'm cooler than everyone here" (or, "I’m really hungover") like wearing sunglasses inside. Thank you for your review and your praise of our staff. Everyone here tries their best to make your stay memorable. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel for a couple of nights. It's originally and brightly decorated with the room being very clean, spacious and well stocked with equipment. It's well located with the streetcar stopping just outside (with the hotel giving out complimentary tickets) and the surrounding neighbourhood is very nice. Plenty of parking and a good variety breakfast included. We even got complimentary wine tasting, which they do on Wednesday nights. Can't believe there's a better value hotel in Portland!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Another great review from a great guest. Thank you for staying and for taking the time to tell others on Trip Advisor about some of the things you liked best about your time with us. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for an unusually cute hotel in a great location, try Northrup Station. This is the hotel for all you Pushing Daisies fans, its funky, colorful and very chic. The streetcar pulls up right outside and will take you into downtown Portland, or you can walk the neighborhood to all sorts of shops and restaraunts . Our King room came 2 TVs, a full kitchen, free WiFi, sitting area and breakfast. Price was a little steeper than other options we've stayed at in Portland, but location was great, and it was a fun splurge!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Our mom is always telling us how cute a hotel we are, and she says any guest would be lucky to have us. But it means a lot more coming from one of our actual guests! You're the best, guest. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Inn at Northrup Station. The location is great, in a quiet neighborhood but tons of restaurants within walking distance in a very trendy area. The hotel is decorated in bright, lively colors in a funky decor. We started out in a king superior suite (when we asked for an AARP discount they said they couldn't give us a discount but they upgraded us instead). This was a very nice room on the top floor. Room was spacious with a full kitchen, sitting area with large flatscreen TV and a very comfortable king bed, with another TV in the bedroom area. Just outside our room was the rooftop deck. Very nice spot to have a drink in the evening. We decided to extend our stay an extra night and had to move to a regular king room on the first floor. This room was also very comfortable with a sitting area, but of course we were spoiled by our previous accommodation! The included breakfast was pretty minimal, but otherwise very happy and would stay again.

Room Tip: Back side is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
There are few things as relaxing at this hotel as having a sunset drink on our rooftop deck. Except the beds; those are even more relaxing but often lead to 8-10 hours of blissful sleep, so use them only when ready! Thank you for your review and for being our guest. Can't wait to have you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Northrup Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.