We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmoshpere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
1411 NW Flanders St, Portland, OR 97209-2620
503-224-9019
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,031 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Bonney lake
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmoshpere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this fun, funky place and were quite surprised......The staff was outstanding. The food was delicious and we enjoyed our drinks very much. I only wish we would have had the pizza because everywhere we looked, delicious pizza was being served all around. I can't wait to go back again......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
782 helpful votes 782 helpful votes
“Try somewhere local”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went to this place which is apparently part of a chain. Had the Buffalo Chicken Pizza. It was very average and at $24.50 for a large hardly a bargain. The booth bench hadn't been wiped down and was covered with crumbs. Overall a below average chain pizza meal, try somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good but disappointing on return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went the first time with friends and a groupon. Both pizzas were good but not great, including a gluten free, which can be iffy. The crust was actually well prepared and had a light crunch. It was busy so it did take quite a while, but we enjoyed passing the time and visiting. Everyone was able to be well into a second beverage by the time the pizza arrived. The second visit, not so great. The guy that seated us was quite flustered, pointed out what a mess the place was because they were short staffed, said someone would get to us as soon as possible, and left in a flurry to clear one of the multiple tables that still had food and dishes. There were 3 other tables seated when we arrived, one already eating. The waitress did get to us within reason, the food, checking on how we were, and getting the bill took quite a while, we were there close to 2 hrs, good thing we paid for extra parking. The other disappointment, was to find out the friends we brought on the groupon, had decided to host a meeting there with 6 people. They called ahead, said they had been in recently and enjoyed it so they wanted to bring in their group, would come on a weekday they consider slower and whatever time worked best. After being transferred to two other people, then lastly the manager, she was politely declined as they do not hold tables. No return for us either.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Good Pizza, really cool place! Not easy getting in and out of the Pearl, but worth the trip. The decore is really modern and pretty for a pizza place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Generous amount of food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a small Greek salad, an Italian Hoagie sandwich and a Calzone! The salad was large enough for us to share, and I took half my sandwich home. The bread on my sandwich was so fresh, soft and delicious.And my husband's calzone was better than we had at a very well know Italian Restaurant recently. The pizza's look good though we didn't have one. But I would have to say that the pizza was the one item on the we thought was over priced. And I agree with another review, the service was on the slow side. But not slow enough for us not to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.