We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmm, best ice cream in the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt & Straw

Salt & Straw
3345 SE Division St, Portland, OR 97202
(503) 208-2054
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Snellville, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Mmm, best ice cream in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved the gourmet flavors and being able to taste them first! I came for the salted caramel but changed my mind after tasting the Strawberry with Honey and Balsamic. Mindblowing!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    115
    46
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Popularity is its undoing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The bottom line, Salt & Straw is melting. With lines around the corner and a staff eager to allow everyone to sample, they are leaving the freezer doors open and serving ice cream no longer maintained at at the ideal temperature. The result is that unlike a year ago, served now is a mushy, melting memory of what you enjoyed a year ago. I love the flavors, but melting dripping salty ice cream is not as enjoyable as cold, hard pack salty ice cream.

And it would be nice if they could offer some kind of seating. The charm of standing in a packed space and shuffling for one of the few seats provided is getting old.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

They have permanent offerings such as strawberry with cracked pepper. Had that with a honey lemon ricotta. Both were fabulous. They are patient while you taste anything you wish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Rich, creamy, fresh flavors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We waited about 40 minutes in line, on a Tuesday night, and are glad we stuck with it. While you're waiting, they come around and let you try a few flavors before deciding what you want. This was the creamiest, freshest ice cream I've ever had. My husband had the Sea Salt ice cream w/ caramel ribbon. It was mind blowing. I had the Coffee & Bourbon, also delicious. I'm suspecting this place is always slammed, so hang in there. It's definitely worth the wait.....it'll probably take you forever to decide what you want anyways. So many creative choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I walked to Salt & Straw from downtown. It was a pleasant walk and the ice cream was delicious. They have about 10-15 interesting flavor options. It was not the traditional list. Very good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Straw also viewed

 

Been to Salt & Straw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt & Straw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.