We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
9911 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220
503-493-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Drank Margarita. Good size. Standard .

Ate BBQ combo with 2 options of BBQ + 2 sides and a muffin. I had Texas brisket + catfish. Both were very nice. Sides are standard.

The meal was heavy. All of this for approx. $25 + tip.

Also got complimentary BBQ chips with 6 or 8 sauces. Good collection of sweet to hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    48
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“"Devil's Spit"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Only try this one of the several sauces presented if you want to break a sweat! Otherwise, go for one of the tamer ones, such as "Rich and Sassy". We always order The Feast for Two which is more than enough for 3. The ribs are terrific but the brisket is to die for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, variety of sauces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The bbq chicken lunch special was very good. I sampled all of the sauces and found most to my liking. Cole slaw was ok. Lemonade was very tasty-not too bitter or sweet. Service was prompt. Decor was enjoyable...I would like to meet their decorator.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Chain BBQ Better than you think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Busy spot but food is pretty good. Service was good and prompt. They serve you alot of foood. Brisket was very goo as was the chicken. Ribs were very salty so perhaps to much in the dry rub. Ribs were cooked fine just way to salty. For chain BBQ not to bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivetshall St. Mary, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good experience and a fun meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Famous Dave's Barbeque is a good ole boy pit restaurant. My wife is not a great meat eater but had the second best cheeseburger of her life here - the flame grill was brilliant she said. I had some great St Louis ribs and they were terrific. The coleslaw was very fresh and had a nice citrus tang. The atmosphere was good and "the joint was hopping" - completely full on a Wednesday night which says something in this economy which we heard was dire before we arrived. The service was attentive and the BlondeBombshell beer quite good too. We thought this was a really good place to eat and had a good evening here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.