We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Lion Roared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5019 NE 102 Avenue, Portland, OR 97220 (Formerly Red Lion Inn & Suites Portland Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Claremore, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Red Lion Roared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

My husband & I stayed for 10 days at the Red Lion Inn & Suites near the Portland, Oregon airport. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel, the hotel grounds, rooms & pool area. Our room was a nice size with a love seat, coffee table, desk, microwave, iron & ironing board and small refrigerator The king size mattress was a little hard-something earlier reviewers noted also. I also liked the long hours that the enclosed pool & hot tub were open-again as noted-very clean. The continental breakfast was good but average-I did like having a separate breakfast room rather than the breakfast in the hotel lobby as in some hotels-the free newpapers were a plus. There was a restaurant-Elmer's-that was just next door(clean, good food, & nice wait staff). All the staff we encountered were friendly. I've read in previous reviews that this hotel has recently changed manangement & undergone renovation. It worked. The negative thing about this hotel is the location-next to a tired looking trailor park on one side & thrift shop w/dumped donation items on the other. However, I think this was a good value for the money & I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    46
    15
    12
See reviews for
50
62
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Portland Airport Red Lion on February 10-12 and found it to be above average. We paid $72 per night (including pet fee) for a large King, non-smoking room with Refrigerator/Microwave. THe location was perfect - a 10 minute drive to dowtown Portland (just follow Sandy Blvd. west) and with easy access to the Columbia Gorge.
Not sure why previous reviews were so poor, but the carpets were clean, in fact everything was very clean and well maintained. My only complaint was the bed...not a very comfortable mattress...
The staff was friendly and helpful, free internet kiosk in the lobby, free newspaper, free continental breakfast, reasonably priced vending machines...this place is a bargain! I would recommend it particularly to pet owners. There is an off leash pet park a couple of miles east on Sandy Blvd. and south on 141st av.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

We had a room on the 4th floor facing the back of the hotel. There is an overgrown lot, a shabby trailer park, and some type of industrial business for a view. The train track is very close to the hotel, and at 6:40 a.m. a train went by blowing its horn. We hadn't planned to get up that early, but the train took care of that. Also, we observed hobos going down to a hobo camp by the train tracks.

The room was a smoking room with cigarette burns on the bathtub, coffee table and end tables. Someone had put their fist through the wall and the screen on the window was ripped. There were several dead flies on the window sill. The carpet was dirty and the bedspreads were worn. There was a small fridge and microwave in the room along with a loveseat, coffee table, an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, television, radio, and coffee maker. The room seemed shabby to me for the price we paid ($75 a night). The staff was so-so friendly.

This hotel is not located in a very nice part of Portland, and the choices of places to eat was very limited unless you want to drive a ways to find other restaurants.

We definitely will not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

We had heard the Red Lion Inn chain offered good hotels at a good price, so we stayed at the Red Lion Inn at the Portland Airport on July 11, 2005.
Well, maybe at one time this Red Lion was good but it is now very run down.

We arrived at the hotel at around 3PM. No one was at the front desk. We called out, but no one answered. After about 10 minutes my husband went and found someone to come out and check us in. When we got to our room the air conditoner wasn't working, so we called downstairs and asked to be moved. Instead of moving us to another room, they sent up the handyman to try to fix the air conditoner. After about 15 minutes of him trying to repair the air conditoner, another staff member came up to the room to say they were moving us to another room. At that point the handyman started to argue with the other staff member that the manager said not to move us but to fix the air conditoner and the staff member is arguring back that the manager said to move us.

The room we finally were settled in was clean but there were cigarette burns on the bedspread and the sheets were worn and felt very rough.
The lobby smelled of cigarette smoke and the elevator doors had graffitti scratched into them.

The hotel is far from the airport and is in an area that has seen better days.
There is a trailer park behind the Red Lion Inn Airport that is rough looking.

I'm sure the Red Lion Inns are a good chain, but they really need to update and repair this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2005

Nights of stay: Sunday - Wednesday, March 27-30, 2005

Our room contained 2 queen-sized beds, 2 nightstands, a TV on a long dresser, a desk, a love seat, a coffee table, a small refrigerator, microwave oven, and a coffee pot. Also in the room were a double-sink vanity, and a hair blower. A sign stated that kitchen supplies & dinner ware were available from the front desk. The bathroom had the usual tub/shower combo, and a toilet. The closet had an ironing board and iron. There were 2 phones, but only one of them worked. The free wifi internet access worked flawlessly, but there were no indications in the room that it even existed. Our non-smoking room had no detectable odors, except an occasional, faint smell coming from a smoking room a few doors down. But the back entry hall into the hotel smelled strongly of old cigarette smoke.

The carpeting, bedspread, and other furnishings weren't new, but they weren't badly worn, either. However, the carpeting was extremely dirty, as evidenced by my white socks turning black after walking on it for only a few hours. Towels, soaps, toilet paper, plastic cups, bedding, etc., were all of the very cheapest quality. The bed was a bit lumpy, but acceptable. We were on the 4th floor; street noise was not an issue in this room. The only noise-related issue we encountered was a train whistle 1-3 times during each night, and the rumble of the passing train. However, during our stay, we did hear someone on the 2nd floor, above the pool, complaining that the pool "was a zoo" all night long.

The indoor, rectangular pool was small, but could be used for exercise swimming with very short laps. It was heated to a comfortable temperature. The exercise room had a treadmill, a bike, and a TV.

My interactions with the staff ranged from helpful and friendly, to helpful and indifferent. The included breakfast buffet was adequate. There was OJ, apple juice, milk, coffee, bagels, breads, English muffins, frozen waffles, pastries, donuts, 2 kinds of cold cereal, apples, and bananas.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2005

The Red Lion Airport has added free highspeed Internet since the last time I stayed. Connection was very good.

I like this small hotel. Free breakfast and an indoor heated pool. It's about a six block walk to the light rail station if you want to take the train downtown.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2004

This was the least expensive hotel we stayed in out of the five on this trip, and well worth every penny! We got the most for the least at this place - at $65 a night, a bargain (and some who've used Priceline say they've gotten it for about half that!). Not far from the airport, although a little out of the way from downtown. The hotel had interior corridors and was relatively quiet (our room faced the back - there is a freight train line but we didn't hear it that much).

We were very glad to have A/C in our room, as Portland was having a bit of a heat wave. The hotel also has a heated pool, spa, and fitness room (two machines and a TV). Continental breakfast was available every morning, but rooms also came with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, which allowed us to save some money on restaurant dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport

Address: 5019 NE 102 Avenue, Portland, OR 97220 (Formerly Red Lion Inn & Suites Portland Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Portland International Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.