We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added River's Edge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off PLUS Free Parking
Ranked #37 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

After reading multiple negative reviews, we came prepared for the worst but were pleasantly suprised by our stay at the Avalon.

After arriving early to Portland on the train, we were able to check in early to our room which was a welcome relief. The room was very clean and well apointed with a nice deck overlooking the river. The bathrooms were spacious and spotless with a nice separate tub and shower.

We settled in and then headed into town to meet up with friends. The Avalon provides a great service through their private towncar that will take you into the downtown corridor and back. We used this service multiple times with no problems ... it was quite conveient. Additioanlly, the streetcar runs within about a 1/2 mile of the hotel which was very convenient.

We had heard problems with the level of soundproofing but experienced
no problems unless our deck door was open allowing us to hear the ladies on the next deck over.

The fitness center in the Spa was wonderful with a nice, large workout area and private men's and women's spas, steam rooms, and saunas. It was a very lovely atmosphere to work out in.

The only downside was the continental breakfast provided by the hotel. While our friends staying at the Embassy Suites had omelettes cooked to order and other breakfast items provided on the house, the Avalon only provided some small pastries and overripe fruit. This is the only area I would say they should work on.

Overall, our experience was very positive at the Avalon.

  • Liked — Fitness Center/Spa
  • Disliked — Continental Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    193
    65
    37
    21
See reviews for
66
225
49
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

The accomodations are OK, the price is OK, parking should be free, but isn't, and the location is terrible. It is difficult to get to and near nothing. Would not stay again.

  • Liked — Modern facilities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Friends and I recently stayed at the Avalon Hotel and Spa in Portland, Oregon. It was a disappointment from the moment we stepped into the lobby. We were a group of four women traveling to Portland to participate in a race being held there. What went wrong:

First: We requested 2 rooms with 2 beds in each room and our reservation indicated this is what we would have, what we got was 2 rooms with one bed in each room
Second: The cots they provided were terrible and we had to request the cots several times. They did not set up the cots for us so we had to move furniture around in order to fit the cot in the room
Third: We were told our rooms would have a view of the river, but neither room had a view of the river and one on the second floor looked over the parking lot
Fourth: The restaurant was closed and there were no restaurants within walking distance
Fifth: When we asked for a bottle opener we were told there were not any in the hotel
Sixth: The staff did nothing to appease us, there was no apology, no compensation of any kind for our troubles

I continued on in Portland for a few extra days. I moved to the Hotel Monaco and it was a world of difference. I got the room I requested, the staff was friendly and helpful and the restaurant was open and serving.

  • Liked — The room was clean
  • Disliked — We did not get the rooms we reserved and the hotel did not care
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

A mixed bag. Presents itself as a "boutique" hotel but has an office-park feel with very little in the way of amenities. Be prepared for a hidden parking fee of 15 bucks per night if you are driving to Portland. If you plan to use the spa, be prepared for lackluster service and book well in advance. Hotel guests get no special treatment as many people from all over Portland seem to use the spa...the Hotel has no functional restaurant but a limited room service menu. I ordered room service once and it took ages (almost 45 minutes for a carafe of coffee) and the desk clerk on duty was less than helpful when I called to see what the delay was and surly when I checked out later that morning. Most other hotel staff seemed polite but disengaged. Hotel has very thin walls--I could hear the sorority party word-for-word in the room adjacent to mine, the carpet was stained, and a light fixture had a short in it and kept flickering so I removed the bulb myself. Good points: The setting is pleasant (on the Willamette River), very peaceful view from the 5th floor. The Hotel provides a free towncar shuttle downtown which was very helpful. If you want to get downtown the Portland streetcar is about 1/2 mile north of the Hotel by Oregan Science & Health University and was free. The bathrooms at the Avalon are really nice. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning the room. Cocktail hour was offered in the lobby but I did not avail myself. I won't stay here again although it was not a terrible experience, just mediocre for the price.

  • Liked — View, downtown shuttle service, great housekeeping
  • Disliked — Noise, parking fee, slow room service, lackluster spa service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

If you stay here please be aware you will be able to hear your neighbor's conversation word for word, their alarm go off, curtain open and everything else. As you can imagine this will mean your sleep is disturbed. I complained and the front desk said they would talk to a manager and "see if they could make our stay more comfortable" but never head back. Also we were awakened at 5am Sunday morning by staff delivering newspapers by dropping them in front of each door. Bring earplugs. Too expensive for these types of issues. Parking is $15 per day and the hotel is not downtown there is plenty of parking in front of the hotel they seem to want to make a few more easy dollars from us. It really doesn't matter how nice the room is if you can't get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I couldn't have picked a more accommodating hotel for my first business trip to Portland, OR. From check-in to check-out and everywhere in between, the service was impeccable. Each person I dealt with during my stay appeared to enjoy what they were doing, while providing excellence to the customer. This was the absolutely cleanest hotel I have stayed at in a long time. The room was spotless
upon arrival, and made so again each day of my stay. I think it is important to mention that the Avalon is doing their best to provide for guests while their restaurant is closed for renovation - there was a quite adequate selection of room service items and the food was very good (I enjoyed the scrambled eggs, bacon & potatos for breakfast and an excellent turkey club with cheddar cheese and bacon for dinner). Also, they offer free appetizers (one night was ravioli, a chicken dish, and cheese, crackers and veggies) and a cash bar adjacent to the lobby area. Also free coffee is available in the lobby at all times. For those who want to venture out, they provide free transportation every 20 minutes or so to local restaurants and into the city of Portland. The health club is fully equipped and was not crowded around 6:00 p.m. Steps from the hotel entrance, there is a walking/biking path that runs along the river. As to rooms, I stayed in a standard room (cheapest, view of roof and other part of building) which was perfectly fine for my short stay, but will try a "riverfront balcony room" next time. There are also "hillside views". Beds were comfortable and pillows were nice and soft. Plush bathrobes were provided and nice toiletries. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board were provided. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — The friendly and welcoming atmosphere and the setting on the river.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed in a riverside room. The room was average sized but the bathroom was great! The room had a balcony overlooking the river, however the privacy on the decks was lacking and you could smell the cigarette smoke emitting from the other rooms. The bed was comfortable and made for a nice night's sleep. The bathroom was the nicest part of our trip since it was about half the size of our room. It came with a full sized tub and separate shower. It had a large sink with a separate toiletry area.

I would probably not return though because it was much too expensive for the location and amenities. You are not close to downtown and it was hard to get to the location. The $15.00 mandatory parking fee was also annoying since you could not park your own vehicle.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#37 Spa Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.