We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but some drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River's Edge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Value but some drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Overall a good value for the money. Because it's not near pioneer square the rate is much lower but there is a nice spa/gym with a jacuzzi and sauna/steam room (gender separated). The room was very clean, spacious and had a large bathroom. complimentary breakfast in the morning. There is a walking path nearby to walk along the Willamette river. The drawbacks of this place center around the fact that it appears this place is going through upgrades and renovations that are not yet complete. For example, the rooms still have the old tube televisions and the internet connection is rather slow and hard to connect to (a staff member told me they will be upgrading this soon). Other issues: parking is 19 dollars to valet and its your only option as there is no where else to park in the area and the front desk can be unresponsive, we had to call 5 times to get a rollaway bed. despite the drawbacks I felt it was worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear UC_Caifan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate and value your feedback.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    212
    69
    42
    22
See reviews for
78
242
53
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were good, the staff was professional and capable and the location was quiet.

The only issue I had, which could be more a fluke, not one in 7 cabbies knew how to get to the damn place. No one had heard of it or knew where it was. Not sure if it was due to it recently being purchased at the time or what, but that was very irritating.

The hotel itself though, quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Gideonit,

It is great to read you found our staff professional and enjoyed our peaceful
location. Looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the River's Edge Hotel & Spa in Portland. The rooms were exceptionally clean, bright, and very nice. The bathroom was beautiful as well! The staff were very friendly, especially the valet parking attendants.

This is not a river view hotel though, so please be aware when you book. We stayed on the river side, but on the second floor, so all we really saw was trees. When we checked into the hotel we were right beside a massive noisy wedding party, so we went right back to the front desk, and they were very helpful and immediately switched us to a much quieter room. I would say though that the hotel overall is noisy, especially from the rooms beside and below/above. The front desk staff is very swift and understanding and deals with any noise issues immediately with out any questions asked.

We liked the valet parking, but it was not communicated to us that it was about $14 per night, so we were waived this fee because we were not told until checkout. The lady at the front desk said no problem and immediately waived the fee. This was appreciated, especially as valet seemed mandatory from our understanding. The complimentary breakfast was also satisfactory. From what we understood as well, there is no pool at the hotel, only steam room and hot tub complimentary through the spa.

The location is alright, you do need to walk about 5 minutes to a bus or street car route that takes you directly downtown. Next time we would forgo the need to stay by the river and just stay downtown. It's honestly much closer to all the fun and exciting things to see!

We had a good experience at this hotel, but we booked through hotwire.com and got a really good deal, otherwise I'm just not sure if its quite worth the regular rate. It is definitely a nice 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: River side rooms are not worth the price if you are really hoping for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear rleeandrea,

Thank you for your four star review, it is very much appreciated. And thank you for mentioning the exceptionally clean accommodations and our very friendly staff. We really hope you reconsider and decide staying with us again; we are only located 2.5 miles south of downtown Portland, a 5 minute walk to the Street car. We would love to welcome you back!

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

"River's Edge Hotel" is named correctly. The hotel is located on the Willamette River and has rooms overlooking the river. Our room on the 1st floor had a balcony which directly did that. We could see (and hear) the many boats passing by. The room was large and very comfortable, as was the accompaning bathroom. We enjoyed the stay and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear rlwrisk,

We are on the edge of the Willamette River indeed. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our location and we can not wait until your return.

We hope you are enjoying the Summer!

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently spent two nights in Portland with my husband and five year old son with River's Edge as our "home base". We were very pleased with the experience overall, especially considering that we were given and upgrade to a spacious suite featuring a wrap-around river view balcony. We found the staff to be generally friendly and helpful, and enjoyed small perks like fresh fruit and refreshing infused water in the lobby. We took advantage of the free breakfast one of the two mornings; as complimentary hotel breakfasts go, it was quite good (I especially enjoyed that there were hard boiled eggs). The only downside of this property is that it's not in the world's most walkable location....but we knew that going into it, so prepared to mostly drive places (which wasn't an issue - we were able to find parking easily enough at each of our destinations). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

The entire team here at River’s Edge Hotel and Spa is really delighted to learn you and your family had a great stay and that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our suites and the amenities we have to offer.

We all wish you a great Summer!

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is located on the Willamette River and has room overlooking the river and the hills. This time we choose the cheaper one overlooking the hills. But were upgraded to a Junior Suite over looking the parking lot, etc. This location was fine and we did not receive any noise nor excess light coming into the room even though we were on the 2nd floor next to the fitness center. This trip I did not have time to use any of the facilities since we were there for only one night. This is our second stay at this hotel and I will stay there again on my next trip. I have used the fitness center on prior visits and it was excellent. They do charge for parking, but I reserved a room through TripAdvisor and parking was included. Thanks tripadvisor. Ana Maret, Room Manager was very accommodating, We will see them next year.
I would not consider this hotel close to public transportation. You can walk to the trolley, use your own car or cab. You would need to stay downtown to enjoy walking the city (i.e. Heathman Hotel)

Room Tip: Check room locations on map then choose River side or hill side. River side is shaded and faces east...
See more room tips
Green Features: The do recycle and ask you to reuse sheets and towel's and other green practice's
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear USMC178,

It was my pleasure to assist you during your stay and on behalf of the entire team “thank you for your four star review and for your loyalty”. We are looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

So, I was flatly lied to by the front desk clerk when I called to ask about why I couldn't access the WiFi. "It's your IPad. We have trouble with those on an open network. There's nothing we can do." As it turns out I had earlier that day been out in the wrong room on the 4th floor (one without a river view) but the wireless was fine. Her logic made no sense.

I confronted her at the front desk. She said her information was "what she had been told." She said the hotel was sold out. I said, "What about the room I had an hour ago?" Voila! I magically got a new room. I then spoke to the front desk supervisor and said I was upset and felt I was lied to. Then, "The problem is with the firewall and the weak signal--that is what kicks your IPad out." I explained that the IPad is one of the most common devices sold in the US and her hotel advertised WiFi in the rooms. "We just got bought two weeks ago," etc. etc. Excuses. No apology for misadvertising or having the front desk staff lie to a guest.

By the way, the chaos in this place is rampant. The front check in computers are slow and finicky. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: 2nd and 4th floors seem to have WiFi. Not the 5th.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear ttttwwww,

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences, lack of sympathy you experienced during your recent stay and for the way this was handled. We are having coverage and signal issues with our system, we are installing new equipment which should improve this issue.

If time permits, I would really appreciate the opportunity to talk to you directly. This is my contact information.

Cordially,

Ana Maret
503.802.5807
Ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#36 Family Hotel in Portland
#44 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.