We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda odd, but it grows on you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added River's Edge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Kinda odd, but it grows on you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've stayed a couple times now, for several days at a time. It's a little bit of a mixed bag but the overall experience is nice and one I wouldn't hesitate to have again.

Rooms were very clean, staff was exceptionally friendly. Sarah (she mentioned she was an out-of-stater... management, I hope you are paying attention) in particular at the front desk was a delight every single time we spoke to her. There was also a valet with aviator glasses who's name I didn't catch, but he made the incredible inconvenience of a mandatory valet for a parking lot that is literally two seconds from where you're going and not hard to figure out at all, a pleasant experience. Kudos to them both. Everyone was very kind and accepting of our child, which is an attitude not often experienced when going places with a two year old! It meant a lot.

Can I just touch on the valet thing, again? Kind of ridiculous. I mean I get it, the restaurant gets busy at night, and there are a lot of fancyschmancy cars around... dig that there are a handful of people who have been given a job, and it definitely adds a certain class... but really? It ought to be an option, is all I'm saying.

Infused water in the lobby? Awesome, nice touch. Enjoyed that very much.

Breakfast on the other hand was a JOKE. I mean literally, we actually make sarcastic references to it in our every day lives. I have had better breakfasts come out of vending machines. Save yourself the headache and go out.

We never ate at Aquariva, though we did head good things and it seemed to be a hotspot in the evenings. The atmosphere was not child friendly (we had our toddler in tow), and a little stuffy for our tastes anyhow. Food was somewhat of an issue, considering you are a little disconnected from everything. Hot Lips Pizza delivers, and if you're in the mood for a (quite nice) 10 minute walk or so, there is a great Vietnamese place as well as a super casual local burger chain right around OHSU. We enjoyed both, Vietnamese being the star of that show.

Never visited the gym, either, because the outdoor walking options were just lovely. We walked the path along the river every morning and several evenings (it is busy, so if you've got your headphones in make sure to respect flow of traffic!). Also walked to OHSU and the surrounding areas daily. You can catch the streetcar there to get downtown if you don't want to mess with driving/parking.

The rooms were very nice. Beds so comfy we had to peek under the sheets and take note for ourselves. We all slept like babies, even OUR baby who is prone to toss and turn like well, a two year old. Linens, awesome. Stayed in the corner suite and loved the windows, and the bathroom. Urban luxury for sure. Comfort and then some. Clean, as I mentioned before. I have this horrible habit of being bedbug-paranoid any time I stay anywhere. The thought NEVER once crossed my mind in this place. This is truly impressive in my opinion.

Definitely go for the riverside view. Unless you have a cottonwood allergy in which case I suggest avoiding the place all together.

Had a few quirks however... one time we stayed and out bathtub was missing part of the drain stopper. Maintenance was super quick to fix it and very nice. AC in the bedroom was REALLY loud. Tv remotes never seemed to work very well, and it was so odd to us that such modern rooms still rocked the oldschool tube televisions. Not really an issue, we're not big tv people. A few times the window treatment tracks were super sticky... and the doors to the balconies while very innovative never worked quite right. It seemed a bit like the idea was beyond some people and they had been forced one way or another too many times. Would have liked to be able to open more windows, as we were there for three nights during one stay and the AC was on the fritz. We spoke with the desk about it twice and were assured it would be dealt with promptly. It was not. The day we were packing to leave (well before our check out) I was surprised with two maintenance guys in our room when I walked out of the bedroom. Thankfully I'd met the one before, so I wasn't terribly alarmed... but still. They said they were only just informed of the problem a few minutes before. This was THREE DAYS after we first brought it up with the desk.

I'd definitely go back. We're pretty laid back people, so it's flaws made it a little endearing. There were other members in our party who were a little less satisfied. I suppose it just depends on the height of your expectations.

Room Tip: Corner suites have gorgeous light and a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Impandpetal,

We are delighted to know you had a very nice experience and we really appreciate your very detailed recount of your recent stay at River’s Edge Hotel and Spa.

Sara and our unidentified Valet with aviator glasses (still working on pinpointing the one) will be thrilled when they read your outstanding comments on the service they provided, thank you on their behalf.

I am very sorry for the slow response to your request about the AC problem; we will discuss this incident with the team to avoid this from happening again.

Thank you for sharing great tips with the TripAdvisor community, we really appreciate your business and can not wait until your next stay with us.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    213
    69
    42
    22
See reviews for
79
242
54
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

As a wind down from dragon boat races for Rose Festival, I spent a relaxing Sunday
night at River's Edge Hotel and Spa. I didn't get a chance to take advantage of the spa;
but just relaxing on the deck over looking the river was great. I loved the way it's sort of
feels like a secret above the very popular walkway.
Would highly recommend it for a staycation in downtown Portland!!

Room Tip: Ask for river view, for sure!!
See more room tips
Green Features: A very green philosophy--recycling bin in the room, green grooming products, and encouragement to help the hotel in the practice!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Rebecca H,

What a beautiful review, thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and for the recommendation. If you were looking for a reason to come back and stay with us again, I can help you find one (or two): “spa treatments”. Feel free to contact me directly, I will be very glad to assist you with your reservations arrangements.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

River view rooms have great river view with large porch! While only minutes from downtown, there is little outside noise other than birds singing on river. Bathroom is large and very well laid out (though hot water took a while to reach shower). Friendly front desk staff, good breakfast (though ends promptly at 9:30!)
Unfortunately, the rooms need updating, particularly need new beds (very soft!) and carpet (musty). With a little attention, this good be a great place!

Room Tip: River view on upper floors!
See more room tips
Green Features: I support the stated environmental claims of the hotel, bit had no opportunity to see if real
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your accommodations, breakfast, and the service provided by our friendly front desk staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have shared it with the team. Thank you.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good hotel located on the river in the SW part of town. Very friendly and helpful staff at the desk and valet. Scenic greenway with a bike trail along the river. Loved the fruit infused water made fresh daily. Minus's (being a little picky here): The room was looking ever so slightly worn, desk finish was faded, the TV was old school, the TV cabinet also had a space where a mini bar/fridge had been removed. The tray with the coffee maker required that you pull it out and relocate it to the desk in order to plug in the coffee maker. Internet free but slow. Breakfast free but limited, hey I enjoyed it but I'm happy with oatmeal and fruit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Johco:

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We are glad that you had a good time in our hotel and enjoyed the fruit infused water and continental breakfast. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. We hope to see you back soon.

All the best,


Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pros: Great front desk staff, beautiful location, great hotwire rate, comfortable mattress.

Cons: The hotel has definitely aged and the room I was in needs an overhaul. The curtains are bad, the chair and footrest were in bad condition, the linens were average at best. The carpets needs to be replaced in the rooms and hallways.

If you classify this as a high-end hotel, it's likely a 3.5 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Veritastraveler66,

We welcome your feedback; it is very important to us, thank you. We really appreciate your compliments of our staff and location.

We truly hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to assist you with your future reservations arrangements and to ensure a totally different experience.


Regards,

Ana Maret
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
River’s Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The good: Valet parking is fast and courteous. Front desk personnel are top notch. The view from the River View rooms is fantastic. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is really good.

The bad: My room had a problem with the faucet in the bathroom. The cold water leaked from the top of the faucet. The hot water took forever to get to my room. When I asked the front desk, they said that the maintenance person said they were "waiting for a part" to fix the faucet. Here's a hint, "Go to a hardware store to get the part". Or "replace the faucet". This was allowed to persist for the entire week of my stay and was very annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a "River View" room.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is supposed to be a "green" hotel. So, the advise to "let the water run" to get hot water seemed to be odd. They do encourage you to hang your towels up and re-use them.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Craig K.

On behalf of our top notch Front Desk and Valet Staff I would like to “thank you” very much for your kind words. We all are very glad to know that you enjoyed the views from your riverside room and continental breakfast was of your satisfaction.

However, I would like to apologize for the way your room incident was handled, this has been addressed already.

Thank you for your loyalty to River's Edge Hotel and Spa. Looking forward to your next stay.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
River’s Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Pros:

-scenic location
-complimentary continental breakfast, but avoid the muffins and coffee
-lovely spa and gym
-helpful and attentive staff


Cons:

-a little far from downtown
-valet parking only for $19/day
-carpets need major cleaning or replacement
-need new T.V.'s
-poor Internet connection

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Zahadran,

We really appreciate you took the time to share the pros and cons of your recent stay with us, your feedback is very much appreciated.

It is great to know that you liked our location, complimentary continental breakfast, spa, and gym. Thank you for mentioning our helpful and attentive staff.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
River’s Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
#44 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.