We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added River's Edge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 133 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“almost great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

River view rooms have great river view with large porch! While only minutes from downtown, there is little outside noise other than birds singing on river. Bathroom is large and very well laid out (though hot water took a while to reach shower). Friendly front desk staff, good breakfast (though ends promptly at 9:30!)
Unfortunately, the rooms need updating, particularly need new beds (very soft!) and carpet (musty). With a little attention, this good be a great place!

Room Tip: River view on upper floors!
See more room tips
Green Features: I support the stated environmental claims of the hotel, bit had no opportunity to see if real
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your accommodations, breakfast, and the service provided by our friendly front desk staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have shared it with the team. Thank you.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    199
    67
    41
    21
See reviews for
71
229
50
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good hotel located on the river in the SW part of town. Very friendly and helpful staff at the desk and valet. Scenic greenway with a bike trail along the river. Loved the fruit infused water made fresh daily. Minus's (being a little picky here): The room was looking ever so slightly worn, desk finish was faded, the TV was old school, the TV cabinet also had a space where a mini bar/fridge had been removed. The tray with the coffee maker required that you pull it out and relocate it to the desk in order to plug in the coffee maker. Internet free but slow. Breakfast free but limited, hey I enjoyed it but I'm happy with oatmeal and fruit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Johco:

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We are glad that you had a good time in our hotel and enjoyed the fruit infused water and continental breakfast. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. We hope to see you back soon.

All the best,


Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pros: Great front desk staff, beautiful location, great hotwire rate, comfortable mattress.

Cons: The hotel has definitely aged and the room I was in needs an overhaul. The curtains are bad, the chair and footrest were in bad condition, the linens were average at best. The carpets needs to be replaced in the rooms and hallways.

If you classify this as a high-end hotel, it's likely a 3.5 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Veritastraveler66,

We welcome your feedback; it is very important to us, thank you. We really appreciate your compliments of our staff and location.

We truly hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to assist you with your future reservations arrangements and to ensure a totally different experience.


Regards,

Ana Maret
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
River’s Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The good: Valet parking is fast and courteous. Front desk personnel are top notch. The view from the River View rooms is fantastic. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is really good.

The bad: My room had a problem with the faucet in the bathroom. The cold water leaked from the top of the faucet. The hot water took forever to get to my room. When I asked the front desk, they said that the maintenance person said they were "waiting for a part" to fix the faucet. Here's a hint, "Go to a hardware store to get the part". Or "replace the faucet". This was allowed to persist for the entire week of my stay and was very annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a "River View" room.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is supposed to be a "green" hotel. So, the advise to "let the water run" to get hot water seemed to be odd. They do encourage you to hang your towels up and re-use them.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Craig K.

On behalf of our top notch Front Desk and Valet Staff I would like to “thank you” very much for your kind words. We all are very glad to know that you enjoyed the views from your riverside room and continental breakfast was of your satisfaction.

However, I would like to apologize for the way your room incident was handled, this has been addressed already.

Thank you for your loyalty to River's Edge Hotel and Spa. Looking forward to your next stay.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
River’s Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Pros:

-scenic location
-complimentary continental breakfast, but avoid the muffins and coffee
-lovely spa and gym
-helpful and attentive staff


Cons:

-a little far from downtown
-valet parking only for $19/day
-carpets need major cleaning or replacement
-need new T.V.'s
-poor Internet connection

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Zahadran,

We really appreciate you took the time to share the pros and cons of your recent stay with us, your feedback is very much appreciated.

It is great to know that you liked our location, complimentary continental breakfast, spa, and gym. Thank you for mentioning our helpful and attentive staff.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
River’s Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The River's Edge is a great modern hotel overlooking the river. We had a spacious room with a balcony facing the river, every nice indeed. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the streetcar stop, $1 a trip to all major city locations - you can pay in cash at a machine onboard. Very convenient! Parking is valet only at $19/day but we had a hybrid car which was free. Breakfast was in the spa reception and not enough seats for all, so we took our breakfast back to our room and sat on the balcony. Breakfast was continental, basic but good. Spa was clothes optional steam rooms, with separate male and female sections, so not much use for a couple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear WNGH,

We really appreciate your four star review and thank you for sharing your experience and great tips with the TripAdvisor community. We hope your travels will bring you back to the City of Roses and we can be your hosts again.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is our second time staying here in a couple of weeks and there are more negative consistencies than positive ones. Arrived this afternoon and went up to our room. It smelled awful -- very musty. Even the bellman agreed. So, back to the lobby we went. No apologies from the front desk. Asked for a higher room, if possible, and curtly told, "We only have rooms available on the 2nd floor." Okay, up we went again. Smell was fine, but no one bothered to mention there would be construction taking place directly above us (or so it sounds). Lots of hammering and drilling for the past hour. Reminded us of our first stay where lots of sounds seem to travel through the air vents.

Hard to believe a hotel that wants to be first class these days would still have the old tube TVs. But I've now been in three rooms here, and there were old TVs in all three.

Perhaps an even bigger frustration came a moment ago when I went to the business center with a thumb drive to print off some documents I needed for tonight. There was only one computer with a USB port and it couldn't print what I needed. The reason is that the software loaded was Microsoft Office 2003! That's right, it was 10 years old!

The riverside location is nice and the bathrooms have nice space, but as others have pointed out, there are very few outlets in the room, by the beds and you have to crawl under the desk to plug in your computer.

I won't be trying again to see if the third time will be a charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a flatscreen TV (one person who wrote a comment said he had one) and also ask ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Grahamc100,

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay; I am very disappointed that your stay was anything but special. I see that you did not want to come back to the hotel, but if you change your mind please let me know and I will ensure you have a very different experience.

Regards,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#26 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Spa Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
#48 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.