We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added River's Edge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

pros:
well maintained hotel
free wifi and parking
above average continental free breakfast
free use of day spa
beautiful views from balcony
friendly and attentive service
fresh water available in lobby
good aestheticians

cons:
beds not in the best condition
distance from portland downtown
aggressive sales for spa products

All in all, the DH and I enjoyed our stay but both agreed we would stay in downtown proper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Willtravelwithkids,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to River’s Edge Hotel and Spa in the very near future, keep in mind it is only an 8 minute drive to downtown Portland.

All the best,
Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    217
    70
    42
    22
See reviews for
83
244
56
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the River's Edge Resort with friends and had a wonderful visit.
Right on the river's edge (ironically) and a bike/walking path that goes into town.
1 1/2 blocks to the "tram" that takes you downtown.
Fabulous continental breakfast every morning and a very nice restaurant for dinner/brunch.
The room was very nice with a balcony overlooking the river.
The workout room is the best I have experienced at ANY hotel.
Staff were very helpful and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Request a river front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Tedsexcellentmusic,

Thank you so much for such wonderful account of your stay at River's Edge Hotel and Spa. and specially for rating us. It is great to know you will be back, we truly appreciate it.

We have shared your lovely comments with our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a wonderful Spring,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at this nice hotel for two nights in Feb 2012. Only valet parking seems to be available (it was included in our package, but I prefer to keep control over my car…). Location is South of Downtown Portland, but we walked and it took less than half an hour (there is a tram nearby also). Riverside is nice. Reception is very efficient and attentive. Rooms are well furnished and decorated, clean with a nice bed. Haven’t tried their restaurant, but the room service menu is not enticing and the quality of the meal we received was not good. The citrus water available at the reception is delicious on the other hand. Haven’t tried their other services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear PacificBlackBird,

Thank you for your four star review and for mentioning the cleanliness of your room, our efficient and attentive staff, and amenities that we offer.

We hope to see you back soon on another romantic getaway so you can try our restaurant Aquariva and perhaps a couples massage.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've just booked my second stay at this property, as I really enjoyed my previous stay in January. I booked a King Hillside room this time, as it's the same as the King Riverview room I had last time, just without the.... well, you can figure it out. The Riverview room was gorgeous, but for $30 extra it didn't make sense to book the view again as I won't be in the room much during daylight hours.

Nice friendly staff, good valet service, close location to downtown Portland without being right downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MIghtyVinyl,

We are thrilled to know you booked your second stay with us already. Hopefully I can meet you in person this time.

All the best,
Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I would rate this stay as average and not that memorable. This hotel would be wonderful if some small changes were made, updating the curtains, bedspread and lamps would help a little.
We liked the area, the restaurant and the beds were comfortable but we were put in a room that overlooked the air conditioning unit. The rooms and hotel you could tell was once very nice but it seemed a bit dated. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Annette M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, your feedback is appreciated. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay but I would really love to have the opportunity to earn your business again on your next visit to Portland.

Have a wonderful Spring!

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and each time was great. The service is excellent and consistent. The spa is great if you want some relaxation. It's a location perfect for exploring downtown as you can ride the tram which is only a few blocks away. The restaurant is next door and has a spectacular view of the river. Rooms are clean and roomy and views of the river from one side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a river view room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Doug G,

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very thankful for the review you wrote about our spa, restaurant, accommodations, gorgeous views, and the excellent service provided by our team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to River’s Edge Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Have a wonderful Spring!

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What an incredible surprise! The hotel and location are beautiful. We had a travelzoo special and didn't really know what we were getting but we certainly got a great deal. The hotel is right on the river and there is a fabulous walking/cycling path just outside that lets you meander beside the river. We were able to walk a few blocks to the trams and catch a ride into downtown Portland to check out the sites. We also walked to McCormick's and Schmidts (bit of a walk ~ 20 minutes) for supper our first night. We enjoyed dinner onsite at Aquariva the second night. Dinner and service at Aquariva was excellent. Bonus continental breakfast in the spa area was a real perk as was the fruit infused waters at the desk.
The gym was huge, I think it is used for more than just the hotel since there are classes listed and some competition for various goals noted. It wasn't busy when I used it.
Overall service of the hotel was excellent. Concierge/bellman/housekeeping/catering/valet were cheerful, friendly, polite and informative. (It's March, we got a free upgrade to a riverview with 2 kings)

Room Tip: Riverside has nice view from the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What an amazing review! Reading your account of your stay brings happiness and a sense of accomplishment to all my colleagues and myself.

Thank you for pointing out the great service you received at Aquariva, that you loved our reinvented Continental breakfast now served in the Spa area, flavored water, and fitness center.

Have a wonderful Spring,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.