We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Relaxation at it's Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added River's Edge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off PLUS Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 132 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eugene, OR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Urban Relaxation at it's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Take the time to enjoy the spa...GREAT STAFF and wonderful massages. The other spa facilities are unbeatable (steam rooms too). Be sure to have a room with a balcony on the river's edge. Enjoy incredible cuisine at the neighboring restaurant or simply enjoy a great room service menu...even late at night (midnight +). Ya...it's an extra $19 for parking to be there over your room stay, but after the amenities (including a wonderful continental - even croissants, cerial, juices..you name it) and elusively comfortable bedding you won't worry. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Stay on the river side....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Ohjames,

No worries on our end now that we have your promise that you will come back! We can only promise to continue improving. It is always great to read that the staff was able to deliver service up to your expectations.

Thank you for sharing with other travelers that you had an enjoyable stay and for suggesting our spa treatments and delicious food at our Aquariva Italian Kitchen.

We are looking forward to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With best wishes,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
River's Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    203
    68
    41
    21
See reviews for
74
234
51
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

After staying at this hotel once before, my husband and I decided to return for a little stay-cation. I was just as astounded the second time around by everything. The valet staff is always curious and attentive. The front desk staff is the best anywhere I've stayed. We had some spa treatments as well during this trip and we were blown away. It's nice to feel like a VIP from the moment you pull up to the moment you leave. The staff at River's Edge is the best in class!
You also can't beat the location. It's nice to be near the city and not IN the city. You're a quick drive/Streetcar trip away from downtown and you can come back for a nice stroll along the river with trees and wildlife all around. You get the best of both worlds!
We were told they had recently been purchased by a new company and the staff all seemed genuinely excited about it. We too are excited, customers for life right here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear NMDY85,

What a fabulous five star review and on behalf of the entire team, I thank you so much. We all are so glad that you decided to come back and moreover, we are super excited to have you as our "customers for life", we will not disappoint you.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
River's Edge Hotel and Spa
--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAKandBarney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I believe this used to be the Avalon hotel formerly. (Easy to confuse River's Edge with Riverplace Hotel not too far away). It's a little tricky to get to...even with a good GPS, but it's quite lovely. I arrived late and the guy checking in before me decided to test his lengthy (and lacking) comedy routine on the front desk staff (and me). The decor is fresh and inviting. There is no self-parking here, so you are obligated to use the valet if you have a vehicle. I always enjoy talking to the young valet staff. Rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. They have these odd doors that "pull out" as if a window would. On the night I stayed I tried to open the door to get out onto the small deck, but couldn't remember how (or if) it was possible! Another oddity: Very old television sets inside the armoirs. They seem out of place, really. The fitness center? Tremendous! Very spacious, excellent equipment...everything seemed to work...so nice. Wireless internet was worthless in my room....not even a weak connection?! Fortunately did some like work on my 4G phone connection.

Happy travels ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear JAKand Barney,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience at River's Edge Hotel and Spa. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Ana Maret
River's Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Thomas, KY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at Rivers Edge for 3 nights while doing business in the Portland area. Everything was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the room was lovely and comfortable. My only problem was that the wifi did not work well in my room. I was able to use the business center and the wifi was great there. Really good to have ready access for printing as well. I recommend this hotel for a business traveler who wants something a littlen ifferent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 27Love2Travel,

Terrific review and we thank you for it. We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay, thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and lovely accommodations. As for the WiFi issue, we apologize for the inconveniences, I can assure you our team is working diligently to solve this problem.

We would love to see you back, please contact me directly to assist you with your reservations arrangements.

Regards,
Ana Maret
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a lovely hotel, situated peacefully outside of downtown Portland. Located alongside the river with a quiet pathway great for a morning walk, the Hotel has a defininite boutique feel to it.

Check in was very effortless and quick, with a surprise of a upgrade to a riverview room. Bell service very helpful. Valet service(an added fee) with swift service and very welcoming staff. I utilized room service during my stay, also very timely and helpful service. While the selection is somewhat limited, it was very tasty after a long day of sightseeing.

Everyday the Hotel puts out a continental breakfast with some of the typical fare of cold cereals, milk, yogurt, muffins, breads and juice. For those whose room was, like myself, close to the ice machine may be delighted to know that the ice comes in prepackaged bags, as to avoid making the usual noise at all hours of the day and night, a charming detail.

The only downside is small, but definitely noticeable. Some of furniture show signs of definite wear. The Tv was not the most recent model, aka crt. Shower head was dated as well. But none of these little details should deter you from experiencing this fine hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor which gives you an excellent view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Opus36,

And thanks for such wonderful and detailed recount of your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our services and amenities we provide. Your feedback is appreciated and has been shared with all individuals. We look forward to seeing you back again soon

Ana Maret
River's Edge Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose to stay at the River's Edge because of it's location to OHSU and the Air Tram. The Hotel was beautiful, clean, and peaceful. The staff were super accomodating. Valet parking was a little expensive but the attendenants were awesome. Our family was happy staying here. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the spa or any other activities near by as our 3 day trip was (unfortunately) spent mostly at OHSU. The Old Spaghetti Factory is just around the corner...very conveniently located. Thank you, River's Edge, for being so friendly and making our experience the best possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Picklechic,

Mission accomplished. We are delighted to read your comments, we have shared them with the entire staff.

Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Portland and will get to enjoy more of what the city has to offer and you can join us again for another great stay. Please feel free to contact me directly, I would like to assist you with your reservations arrangements.

All the best,
Ana Maret
503.802.5807
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a business meeting and was impressed as all staff members had a genuine interest to be friendly and make sure my stay was great. Great setting and beautiful property. Used the Aquivira restaurant for hoting clients and the staff did a tremendous job on making sure the food and beverages were available. They even made rounds around the room asking people if they needed anything else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Jimmy J,

We are really happy to know that you had an outstanding experience at River's Edge Hotel and Spa. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we do appreciate your kind comments in regards to your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Portland

Sincerely,

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Family Hotel in Portland
#39 Spa Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.