We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12048 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Super close to airport. The breakfast in the morning was a great way to start our day of travel... the room was nice and comfortable. Will return for sure when we need to fly out early. Airplane noise is a non issue.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    47
    24
    7
See reviews for
52
77
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This Hilton is right by the airport & provides shuttle service if you prefer. It has all the HGI staples- pantry, bar, breakfast, dinner, business center, pool, gym, etc. Staff were friendly & food was good the night I ate here. Sometimes hotel food can be hit or miss but I was happy with the quality. Would stay here again in future trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that our hotel could accommodate your needs. Just as a side note, we are open for breakfast only Saturday and Sunday. I just wanted to make sure anyone reading your review was aware of this.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope that we will have the pleasure of you staying with us again!

Sincerely,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have tried other hotels near PDX and decided to give this one a try. One unexpected thing for hotels in this price category is the lack of a complimentary breakfast. Apparently you can pay for a breakfast of some sort (there are also places for breakfast nearby). This hotel sits parallel to busy 4-lane Airport Way (as opposed to others that sit perpendicular to the road and thus have no rooms directly facing the road). Thus all the even number rooms facing the road may be noisy. The first room we had was even numbered and the road sounds, even on the third floor, were pronounced. Fortunately we were ably to move to a room facing the back. The Hilton chain in general must have invested in ultra thick duvets for their beds. These may work for sub freezing temperatures (or if you turn the AC down real low), but they are way too hot for normal sleeping. There was no regular blanket alternative to the duvet in the room, something other chains provide. Thus I had to use just a sheet and a bath towel as covers. Finally both rooms we saw had oversized bathroom doors (not necessarily for those with impaired access) that had to be propped open (another use for the towels). There were other minor details that seemed to have been overlooked (like a clock that was unplugged and thus needed partial disassembly to reset). On the plus side it is a quick shot to PDX for those early departures, though it is best to cut through the McDonald's parking lot next door to catch the light.

Room Tip: Get a room in back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Yes, the back side of the hotel is a quieter altenative and I am glad that we could accomodate your request. I am sorry that the duvet was too hot for your comfort. If you stay with us again, we are more than happy to bring you a blanket upon request.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will return!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotels near airports are a different breed altogether. There seems to be some cookie cutter factory that they all come out of. So when choosing one you just have to make sure that it has all the essentials (free parking, free wifi, free airport shuttle, etc). Sure, you can pay less but with a Hilton Garden Inn you generally know what you are going to get: something a little better than the other cookie cutter ones all along the strip near the airport. This one is exactly that.

We were staying elsewhere in Portland when we decided we needed to upgrade so we booked a night here as our final night and we are glad we did. Hilton has been in this business so long they have really tweaked things. Even the graphics on the front sliding doors evoke an emotion as you enter. It all goes a long way when you are a tired traveler. Check-in could have been a little more personable but was extremely efficient.

The King room on the top floor was much appreciated and it came with all the necessary features. Bonus points for a small fridge in the room that actually was nice and cold, had a freezer section, and was quiet! The room was clean, the bed was comfy and a great sleep was had by all. The bathroom did the trick nicely but I always check the vent fan in the ceiling (it's sort of a pet peeve of mine). This one definitely needed cleaning! So if you are grossed out about that sort of thing, don't look up. Otherwise, the big towels, the shower head that actually swiveled, and the Neutrogena soaps and shampoos in those little hotel bottles were great!

We couldn't stay for the "made-to-order" breakfast which they charged extra for but we did have to pass through it as we exited the hotel. Yes, you heard correctly, the lobby doubles as an open restaurant. That's one way to do it but if I was designing the cookie cutter building, I would have had the open restaurant more over to the side. So you knew it was there but it didn't feel like you were disturbing other guests having their breakfast.

Overall, a nice, efficient stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for sending in the review on our hotel. It was a great review and I appreciated all the extra information that you supplied to "would be guests".. HIlton is definitely known for it's consistency among it's brands and seems to know just what the guest needs.
I will make sure that I bring to the attention of our front desk manager, your comments in regards to a less than personable front desk associate. Customer service is very important along with being effiecient.
Thank you again and we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stay frequently at Hamptons and Hilton Garden Inns and stopped at this one while traveling through on June 15, 2014. The facilities were good, but the young lady checking us in was abrupt and seemed as if we were disturbing her conversation with another employee. No problem, but the power went out at the hotel around 10:00 pm. There were lights in the hallway and the hotel says a transformer was out, but all other lights in the area were on. When checking out, we expected at least a "we're sorry for the inconvenience". Nothing said and when it mentioned it, the employee said nothing. Even if not the hotel's fault, it seems they could have offered free breakfast or additional Honors points or something.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Please accept our apologies for the power outage. Yes, a transformer did go out in the area that affected only some of the lights and just a few other businesses on this side of the street. I am sorry that our front desk agent did not handle your check-in or the situation correctly. If you could respond back to me by email I will make sure that we take care of you.

Liz.Charbonneau@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a comfortable and friendly hotel with well-furnished rooms and public areas. We stayed twice, coming through Portland in each direction. Both stays were totally pleasing. The staff is friendly and helpful and we felt like we were truly welcomed here as guests. We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review! We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but were quite happy with the experience.
Pro: clean, modern-looking room with great coffee maker, a mini-refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast buffet was great and cheap ($8.95 each). Sound isolation was good...we hardly heard the airplane noise.

Con: almost none.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We will see you next time that you are in Portland1

liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport

Address: 12048 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.