We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant 2 bed/2+ bath suite was perfect for trip with grandparents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Giant 2 bed/2+ bath suite was perfect for trip with grandparents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Grandparents were visiting so we needed room for six+: 2 dogs, 2 kids, 2 adults, 2 grandparents. I got lucky to find an available suite on this busy 4th of July / Blues Festival weekend (when there were no regular rooms available). I think the suite was even cheaper than two separate rooms and it was HUGE. Something like 700 square feet! It was plenty of space for us to have our own space and privacy, including separate bathrooms with an extra sink in one bedroom. There was a full-size kitchenette. The room was clean and service was great. Although there were very limited gluten free options at breakfast, the service person happily brought me a yogurt parfait without granola, upon my request. We've stayed at this hotel several times over the years, and it's gotten very pricey. But we love this location on the southern tip of the waterfront. Yummy ice cream nearby!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    160
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
158
101
17
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Got a great deal on this place sight unseen.. Despite the name, this is not really what you would call downtown Portland. There is a very convenient streetcar stop right there, however, so you can get anywhere you want to go without a car. Staff is super friendly and helpful, breakfast is top notch, and rooms are some of the nicer I have seen at a Residence Inn. There was a lot of construction going on next door, which was just kind of an eyesore when you were outside.

Green Features: It was nice that they provided a small container for recycling in the room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my family for a short vacation. Staff was outstanding. Had a kids bag waiting for us upon arrival and an upgrade to a more spacious room. Lobby and breakfast area are huge and well maintained. Rooms are clean and well appointed with comfortable beds. Pool is very nice, albeit a bit cold. Location near waterfront is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at Residence Inn Riverplace for three months and from day one the staff was so friendly that I almost instantly felt like it was my friends or co-worker. Whatever random question I came up with, they made sure to either deliver the answer/service right away or made sure to look it up.

The room was big with both balcony and cooking equipment, so I didn't have any problem of rooting myself. Breakfast was of a good quality with daily variation and the breakfast staff were also very friendly and welcomed me with a smile.

Whenever I get the chance to go back to Portland I would never pick another hotel and I feel sad leaving all my new friends among the staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer property located on the outside of downtown Portland, providing easy access to anywhere in the city. We had two different rooms there and I feel the staff went above and beyond to accommodate guests, while being very friendly. The rooms were nice but had some issues that should have been fixed-although nothing major, just in need of maintenance. The breakfast and evening social were good, but fell short of other Residence Inn properties. The staff failed to keep the food stocked and fresh, and although they were friendly, were painfully incompetent in terms of ensuring a clean well stocked area and communicating with guests. The food temperature varied widely, the dishes that were "clean" had left over food debris and coffee grinds on and in them. The property was clean other than that. The beds in the room were above what most other limited service Marriott brands have, providing outstanding comfort and clean, crisp linens. The chairs and sofas in the rooms were dated and worn but they put vinyl slip covers over the arms to attempt to hide this. Although it is close proximity to the freeway noise was never an issue, and it appears they have soundproof windows. The biggest complaint I have along with most guests and reviewers was the parking fee. I have no problem paying $50 a night in New York or San Francisco but $26 per night at this property that has ample parking and is not really even in downtown (Portland) is outrageous. I would rather pay a higher room rate than pay for such an overinflated parking fee. There is obviously no valet (this is a Residence Inn) but plenty of spaces and it is on site. This is just a revenue generator for the hotel which is understandable, but a more reasonable fee and a slightly higher room rate over this absurdly high fee would be expected and appreciated in a city like Portland. It is within walking distance of downtown, the waterfront, and very good restaurants including Pizza Shimitza, a staple in the fabulous selection of Portland Restaurants. I would recommend this hotel when you stay in Portland especially if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace in early June as part of a family tour of Oregon.

While some hotels have limited space for the complimentary breakfast, this one had a generous and comfortable area for the sumptuous breakfast buffet. Many hot items, as well as make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and a variety of teas, were available. The staff was friendly and helpful. Because we stayed on a weekend evening, the manager's reception was not offered; however, a weekly menu for the weeknight receptions was posted on the refrigerator door.

We requested a balcony for our studio king room, and were placed in a room with a balcony facing the city. The balcony, with two chairs, provided a view of construction below, but a comfortable area to sit outside.

While some Residence Inns are more updated, this one was quite acceptable, and close to local transit lines. We asked for and received a late checkout with no problem.

The king bed was very comfortable. The mini-kitchen provided everything we needed included a full-size refrigerator, in-room coffee maker and a bag of microwave popcorn.

One concern is the price of parking for hotel guests - $26 - which seems high, even for Portland. We chose off-premise street parking as an alternative. Portland Perks, a discount plan available on the Portland tourism site, provides a package which includes parking, although we did not use that discount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As some of the other reviewers have stated, location on one of this hotel's strongest attributes; easy access to the River Walk. Also, some excellent restaurants in the immediate area.
I did have a problem with the cat5 internet connection, did not seem to work, even after another cable was provided; was not a major issue since the wireless worked fine (a little nervous about entering passwords on a wireless network).
Also, the air conditioning seemed to be having trouble maintaining a reasonable temperature, even though the weather was not particularly warm. Overall, though, this was not a major issue.
All told, was quite satisfied with my stay; breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#21 Business Hotel in Portland
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is near downtown Portland and the Portland streetcar line. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to OHSU and is near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace hotel is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district. This downtown Portland hotel is near the Oregon Convention Center and the Portland Rose Garden Arena, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This downtown Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from Portland International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.