We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Residence Inn Overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good Residence Inn Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer property located on the outside of downtown Portland, providing easy access to anywhere in the city. We had two different rooms there and I feel the staff went above and beyond to accommodate guests, while being very friendly. The rooms were nice but had some issues that should have been fixed-although nothing major, just in need of maintenance. The breakfast and evening social were good, but fell short of other Residence Inn properties. The staff failed to keep the food stocked and fresh, and although they were friendly, were painfully incompetent in terms of ensuring a clean well stocked area and communicating with guests. The food temperature varied widely, the dishes that were "clean" had left over food debris and coffee grinds on and in them. The property was clean other than that. The beds in the room were above what most other limited service Marriott brands have, providing outstanding comfort and clean, crisp linens. The chairs and sofas in the rooms were dated and worn but they put vinyl slip covers over the arms to attempt to hide this. Although it is close proximity to the freeway noise was never an issue, and it appears they have soundproof windows. The biggest complaint I have along with most guests and reviewers was the parking fee. I have no problem paying $50 a night in New York or San Francisco but $26 per night at this property that has ample parking and is not really even in downtown (Portland) is outrageous. I would rather pay a higher room rate than pay for such an overinflated parking fee. There is obviously no valet (this is a Residence Inn) but plenty of spaces and it is on site. This is just a revenue generator for the hotel which is understandable, but a more reasonable fee and a slightly higher room rate over this absurdly high fee would be expected and appreciated in a city like Portland. It is within walking distance of downtown, the waterfront, and very good restaurants including Pizza Shimitza, a staple in the fabulous selection of Portland Restaurants. I would recommend this hotel when you stay in Portland especially if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear DavidAZ85,
Thank you for your thorough review and for recommending our hotel, especially for those traveling with family as you mention. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    168
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
168
111
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace in early June as part of a family tour of Oregon.

While some hotels have limited space for the complimentary breakfast, this one had a generous and comfortable area for the sumptuous breakfast buffet. Many hot items, as well as make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and a variety of teas, were available. The staff was friendly and helpful. Because we stayed on a weekend evening, the manager's reception was not offered; however, a weekly menu for the weeknight receptions was posted on the refrigerator door.

We requested a balcony for our studio king room, and were placed in a room with a balcony facing the city. The balcony, with two chairs, provided a view of construction below, but a comfortable area to sit outside.

While some Residence Inns are more updated, this one was quite acceptable, and close to local transit lines. We asked for and received a late checkout with no problem.

The king bed was very comfortable. The mini-kitchen provided everything we needed included a full-size refrigerator, in-room coffee maker and a bag of microwave popcorn.

One concern is the price of parking for hotel guests - $26 - which seems high, even for Portland. We chose off-premise street parking as an alternative. Portland Perks, a discount plan available on the Portland tourism site, provides a package which includes parking, although we did not use that discount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SpringdaleGirl,
Thank you for your comments and for mentioning how much you enjoyed the breakfast experience at our hotel and the comfort of the beds. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As some of the other reviewers have stated, location on one of this hotel's strongest attributes; easy access to the River Walk. Also, some excellent restaurants in the immediate area.
I did have a problem with the cat5 internet connection, did not seem to work, even after another cable was provided; was not a major issue since the wireless worked fine (a little nervous about entering passwords on a wireless network).
Also, the air conditioning seemed to be having trouble maintaining a reasonable temperature, even though the weather was not particularly warm. Overall, though, this was not a major issue.
All told, was quite satisfied with my stay; breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Robertj_48,
Thank you for feedback and for recommending our hotel for others visiting the Portland area! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed one night in portland and this place offered a good rate with a decent sized room for 3 guys. the checkin staff were very helpful and filled us up on toiletries as our bags had not arrived after 15 hours of flying. its not exactly central but was near enough for a stroll to some waterfront bars before catching a cab (less than $10) into the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Straychris,
We appreciate your review and comments! Glad you were able to enjoy a stroll along the waterfront - our location is perfect for walkers, joggers and bikers alike. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is the best virtue of this Residence Inn. Be aware that the windows don't open because you are right on top of the freeway (you can read the car plates); ventilation was a problem for us, be sure to contact the desk if it is not working right. The "Ships Store" is next to the check in desk, prices are usury in nature; nothing is mark with a price so look at the little plaque on the wall. Parking is expensive but typical for city hotel. Take note: this is a green hotel, one ply toilet paper, water restrictors, fluorescent lighting. Breakfast is great, as is the staff in general.
You are paying for location so ignore the dated and shabby furniture.

Room Tip: Face the street not the freeway !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear WilliamH,
Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast, staff and the location of the hotel. Three great reasons to come back! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was great, the bedroom and bathrrom was separate from the living room/kitchen area. There was a TV in both living room and bedroom. A door separated the bathroom/toilet area from the rest of the bathroom. The breakfast - it was perfect. Great selection and a different main item each day. Coffee and tea were always available. Parking is a little expensive - $26 a day. We were there for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon and would stay at this hotel again. Would be a good hotel for kids - there is a nice indoor swimming pool and laundry is available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Pangcg,
Thank you for being our guest. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast experience! We hope you will return for next year's Rock and Roll Half Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay in a Residence Inn when available, so thought this would be a good one. Disappointed in location (not scenic at all) and we couldn't find a luggage cart to help us carry things up to our 6th floor room. Front desk staff was full of excuses, but no help. The price for parking is way too much. Room is typical, but on the small side.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear WeymanS,
Thank you for taking time to tell us your feedback. We are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.