We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay - everything good except $26 parking/night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good stay - everything good except $26 parking/night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Guess its not so near downtown - but has amazing public transport connectivity. I didn't realize the parking fee (and driving in Portland is no fun either) so gave up the car the next morning and got myself a weekly pass - worked out fine. The breakfast is great - partly the reason why I prefer Residence Inn. I happily skipped the conference breakfast for the hotel spread. There are evening specials as well - which I couldn't enjoy. However, I was told, it was as good. I5 goes by a almost touching flyover - however you hardly feel any noise/vibration.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They allowed me a early checkin - almost at 11AM - which was very nice.

Room Tip: This hotel has no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear tbandopadhyay,
We appreciate your comments and your feedback is valuable to us. I understand that downtown parking can be pricey but am glad that you noticed how connected we are to public transportation as well. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    173
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
171
112
21
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it worked out great. The room was comfy and modern. The place had a good breakfast and happy hour snacks. I didn't get to spend too much time enjoying the amenities but I'm sure they were good. The hotel was a little over 2 miles away from the convention center and I used this opportunity to walk there and back every day. The river made the stroll very nice. There is public transportation near by as well. There are some good places to eat in the Esplanade. Overall a good location for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear StephenR,
Thank you for being our guest. So glad to hear you enjoyed a stroll along the river walk after a long day of meetings at your conference. Take care and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and so initially didn't know which hotel we'd be staying at for our weekend getaway to Portland. This hotel, for the price, was fantastic. The rooms were very large with a super comfy bed, very clean and relatively modern looking. The kitchenette aspect is a great feature too, especially for longer trips. They'll even pick up groceries for you and leave them in your fridge if you request it!

The free breakfast blew our mind. There was a huge selection of cereals, oatmeal, sausages, waffles, pancakes, toast and tons of juices/coffees. From our experience, this totally blows a standard continental breakfast out of the water!

The location was decent to downtown portland, just a 5-7 minute street car ride, or about a half an hour walk (which you can do most of on the river, which is nice when you're a tourist).

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear vancouverites211 ,
Thank you for giving us 5 stars in your review and for specifically mentioning how much you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast we offer. Hope it helped get your day off to a great start! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my first time at a Residence Inn. Very impressed. The room I had was an apartment, very large and with all the amenities. Location is right on the river and within walking distance from several nice restaurants. The trolley stop is a half block away. Staff were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear mikeahfi,
Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. Glad to know you were impressed with Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all whether you have a family member having surgery at OSHU or just visiting. Close to the waterfront, great restaurants, the trolley/ IMet system. Clean, comfortable beds, large kitchen suites. Head down to the farmers market for unusual finds. It is spendy, but for long stays, it feels like home. Nice full breakfasts also each morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear wilwag,
Thank you for giving us 5 stars in your review! We are the closest hotel to OHSU and I'm glad that we were able to help you enjoy the comforts of home while your loved one had medical treatments in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was clean, the staff helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were hot and had plenty to choose from. The location was close to the tram and the streetcar as well as the Esplanade. My only complaint was minimal but the TV was mounted on a table that didn't face the bed OR the couch and couldn't be swiveled. So every night my husband would physically move the TV stand just do he could watch TV. Poor planning to have the TV mounted do that it faced the refrigerator!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear travelover901,
Thank you for sending your comments - we will be sure to check the placement of the televisions. We also appreciate your comments on the wonderful service you received from our team. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed here with a co-worker in a studio unit that offered a king bed and a double sofa sleeper with a small kitchen area. Upon checking in we were advised that our stay included the normal complimentary breakfast AND a dinner buffet from 6-7:30pm. I did not get to see what exactly was offered with the dinner as we had an office function to attend. The breakfast was as usual a great way to start the day.
The location is fantastic with many restaurant and bar optons all with in walking distance. It really is well suited for the business traveler and even though it is located right under the Marquam Bridge the noise level was nothing to worry about.
Thank you Residence Inn for another great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Terri W,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your prior stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning that our hotel was quiet and comfortable - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
#39 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.