We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay - everything good except $26 parking/night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good stay - everything good except $26 parking/night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Guess its not so near downtown - but has amazing public transport connectivity. I didn't realize the parking fee (and driving in Portland is no fun either) so gave up the car the next morning and got myself a weekly pass - worked out fine. The breakfast is great - partly the reason why I prefer Residence Inn. I happily skipped the conference breakfast for the hotel spread. There are evening specials as well - which I couldn't enjoy. However, I was told, it was as good. I5 goes by a almost touching flyover - however you hardly feel any noise/vibration.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They allowed me a early checkin - almost at 11AM - which was very nice.

Room Tip: This hotel has no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    160
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
158
101
17
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it worked out great. The room was comfy and modern. The place had a good breakfast and happy hour snacks. I didn't get to spend too much time enjoying the amenities but I'm sure they were good. The hotel was a little over 2 miles away from the convention center and I used this opportunity to walk there and back every day. The river made the stroll very nice. There is public transportation near by as well. There are some good places to eat in the Esplanade. Overall a good location for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and so initially didn't know which hotel we'd be staying at for our weekend getaway to Portland. This hotel, for the price, was fantastic. The rooms were very large with a super comfy bed, very clean and relatively modern looking. The kitchenette aspect is a great feature too, especially for longer trips. They'll even pick up groceries for you and leave them in your fridge if you request it!

The free breakfast blew our mind. There was a huge selection of cereals, oatmeal, sausages, waffles, pancakes, toast and tons of juices/coffees. From our experience, this totally blows a standard continental breakfast out of the water!

The location was decent to downtown portland, just a 5-7 minute street car ride, or about a half an hour walk (which you can do most of on the river, which is nice when you're a tourist).

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my first time at a Residence Inn. Very impressed. The room I had was an apartment, very large and with all the amenities. Location is right on the river and within walking distance from several nice restaurants. The trolley stop is a half block away. Staff were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all whether you have a family member having surgery at OSHU or just visiting. Close to the waterfront, great restaurants, the trolley/ IMet system. Clean, comfortable beds, large kitchen suites. Head down to the farmers market for unusual finds. It is spendy, but for long stays, it feels like home. Nice full breakfasts also each morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was clean, the staff helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were hot and had plenty to choose from. The location was close to the tram and the streetcar as well as the Esplanade. My only complaint was minimal but the TV was mounted on a table that didn't face the bed OR the couch and couldn't be swiveled. So every night my husband would physically move the TV stand just do he could watch TV. Poor planning to have the TV mounted do that it faced the refrigerator!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed here with a co-worker in a studio unit that offered a king bed and a double sofa sleeper with a small kitchen area. Upon checking in we were advised that our stay included the normal complimentary breakfast AND a dinner buffet from 6-7:30pm. I did not get to see what exactly was offered with the dinner as we had an office function to attend. The breakfast was as usual a great way to start the day.
The location is fantastic with many restaurant and bar optons all with in walking distance. It really is well suited for the business traveler and even though it is located right under the Marquam Bridge the noise level was nothing to worry about.
Thank you Residence Inn for another great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#21 Business Hotel in Portland
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#33 Spa Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is near downtown Portland and the Portland streetcar line. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to OHSU and is near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace hotel is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district. This downtown Portland hotel is near the Oregon Convention Center and the Portland Rose Garden Arena, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This downtown Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from Portland International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.