We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's a Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great, friendly Hotel in a perfect location along the Willamette River in downtown Portland with the Street Car right outside. The rooms are very nice--clean, well-appointed with full kitchens. We had a one bedroom, king room and it also had a sleep sofa in the living room. We went with our two grandsons (11 yrs. and 8 years) and they loved the swimming pool. Lots of families enjoying the pool until 11 pm. This is also a dog-friendly hotel which is delightful and I never heard any barking. The complimentary breakfast is exceptional--not your basic little continental breakfast. So many, many choices from belgian waffles, to biscuits and gravy, all types of pastries, hot oatmeal, eggs, sausage, toast, juices and so much more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    160
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
158
101
17
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed our family visit to the hotel.

Upon arrival, our assigned 2-bedroom suite had an unpleasant cat odor, so upon request we were immediately given a room that was free of any unpleasantness. I understand the nature of hotels that are pet-friendly, however, I feel it is the property’s responsibility to sufficiently deodorize following any pet occupation, so that the subsequent guests receive a better experience.

Nevertheless, the second room was fine a met all our needs. It was clean, well-appointed and quiet (except for the loudest disposal we have ever had/heard … we likened it to a rocket ship takeoff, as it literally shook the sink and counter). Oddly enough, the room lacked an ottoman for the chair, which was present in our original room. I probably could have requested one, but didn’t. It seems strange that the amenities vary between identical suites.

The morning breakfast, while hectic, was well stocked and the staff made sure items were replaced quickly. We did not eat with the masses, as we chose to bring the meal back to our suite, which was very nice.

Workout facilities were nice, too, with a good mix of equipment that was in perfect working order.

The location of the hotel is at the south end of the city, but it is an easy walk. We took the lovely river walk to the Saturday market and had a nice time. Yes, hotel parking is at a premium, but it is very convenient and enables you to get to your vehicle without having to walk to and fro in the (frequent) rain.

Overall, it was a nice stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Came through horrific storm, sloshing between trucks,overturned wrecks, and heavy traffic on I -5. arrived at Residence Inn Riverplace and,though staff is pleasant, had the following complaints: Parking fee is $25 per night( youza), dogs are $25 per night each,we have two.So our $149 rate,with tax and charges is now $250! First room smelled of cigarettes,got a room change.Staff forgot to change garage access, held up others while I ran to desk to reconfigure.Washing of lobby floor went on from 4:00-6:00, dangerous and wet.Though nice I will not return.

Room Tip: Consider a less central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Residence Inns are always a great place to stay and the Residence Inn Downtown/River Place is no exception. I have stayed here a few times now for work and always look forward to the stay. The rooms are always clean, the staff are friendly, and the location cannot be beat. The entire downtown area is a 15 minute walk with riverside restaurants and cafes much closer. Parking is always a trial in Portland, but the Residence Inn has convenient onsite parking. In room internet (both wired and wireless) are fast and reliable.

Room Tip: If you enjoy walking/jogging/or running bring your shoes. There is a beautiful trail that runs along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel. It was easy, quiet, well-appointed and steps away from the streetcar. It isn't exactly "downtown" but given the price I got by bidding, well worth the distance. Check-in was fast and friendly. The room was spacious, clean, and looked brand new. The bathroom was somewhat small, and not as nice as the rest of the room.

Breakfast the next morning was great-- plenty of food, and beverages. Waffles, eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy, plus cereals, yogurt, bagles, muffins, etc.

Check-out was bit slow, but bearable.

Watch out for the $25/night parking. There is limited parking on the street, though, and I will try that next time.

Room Tip: There is a freeway right behind the hotel, but I didn't hear a thing. Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at this property many times - for work, festivals, hospital visits & just for fun! It's in a great location - walking distance to the Pilsner Room at McCormick & Schmick's, where they feature Full Sail beers! It's also across the street from the trolley which can connect you up with anything in Portland. We love this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumgait
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for several nights in October 2012. I liked the place and its friendly staff. Attended a meeting in the meeting room in 2nd floor. A pretty nice room. My room was a really good one with a kitchenette. Despite my room was far from the elevator, it did not cause a problem. Overall, it is a good hotel to stay in when in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#21 Business Hotel in Portland
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is near downtown Portland and the Portland streetcar line. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to OHSU and is near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace hotel is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district. This downtown Portland hotel is near the Oregon Convention Center and the Portland Rose Garden Arena, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This downtown Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from Portland International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.