We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but hidden costs, not a good value for high price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice but hidden costs, not a good value for high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Came through horrific storm, sloshing between trucks,overturned wrecks, and heavy traffic on I -5. arrived at Residence Inn Riverplace and,though staff is pleasant, had the following complaints: Parking fee is $25 per night( youza), dogs are $25 per night each,we have two.So our $149 rate,with tax and charges is now $250! First room smelled of cigarettes,got a room change.Staff forgot to change garage access, held up others while I ran to desk to reconfigure.Washing of lobby floor went on from 4:00-6:00, dangerous and wet.Though nice I will not return.

Room Tip: Consider a less central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Beverlydbichons,
We appreciate your feedback and continually strive to improve in everything we do! You definitely should not arrive and be surprised with additional costs. Our parking fees are displayed on our website and via Marriott email confirmations, although the pet fee would not have shown on the confirmation unless you did notify us that you had two pets during the reservation process. Thank you for sharing your comments - we are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    187
    49
    14
    7
See reviews for
195
118
23
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
World Traveler
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Residence Inns are always a great place to stay and the Residence Inn Downtown/River Place is no exception. I have stayed here a few times now for work and always look forward to the stay. The rooms are always clean, the staff are friendly, and the location cannot be beat. The entire downtown area is a 15 minute walk with riverside restaurants and cafes much closer. Parking is always a trial in Portland, but the Residence Inn has convenient onsite parking. In room internet (both wired and wireless) are fast and reliable.

Room Tip: If you enjoy walking/jogging/or running bring your shoes. There is a beautiful trail that runs along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear sjoconn,
Your opinion matters and it validates how hard our team works to take care of our guests. Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace. We can't wait to see you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel. It was easy, quiet, well-appointed and steps away from the streetcar. It isn't exactly "downtown" but given the price I got by bidding, well worth the distance. Check-in was fast and friendly. The room was spacious, clean, and looked brand new. The bathroom was somewhat small, and not as nice as the rest of the room.

Breakfast the next morning was great-- plenty of food, and beverages. Waffles, eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy, plus cereals, yogurt, bagles, muffins, etc.

Check-out was bit slow, but bearable.

Watch out for the $25/night parking. There is limited parking on the street, though, and I will try that next time.

Room Tip: There is a freeway right behind the hotel, but I didn't hear a thing. Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Elly2011,
We're thrilled to hear how much you "love" Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us in downtown Portland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at this property many times - for work, festivals, hospital visits & just for fun! It's in a great location - walking distance to the Pilsner Room at McCormick & Schmick's, where they feature Full Sail beers! It's also across the street from the trolley which can connect you up with anything in Portland. We love this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Autumn W,
We appreciate your time and feedback! Thank you for staying at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumgait
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for several nights in October 2012. I liked the place and its friendly staff. Attended a meeting in the meeting room in 2nd floor. A pretty nice room. My room was a really good one with a kitchenette. Despite my room was far from the elevator, it did not cause a problem. Overall, it is a good hotel to stay in when in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Parviz82,
Your opinion matters and it validates how hard our team works to take care of our guests. Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace in 2012! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My work colleague and I came from NZ to attend the Far West Show. The suite had two bedrooms and ensuites that suited ue perfectly,was well maintained throughout the seven days we were there.The breakfast menu offered a wide choice to start ones day. The hotel shuttle expediated us to the convention centre, with the car park safely securing our hire car.The hotels location is handy to waterfront cafes, restaurants and walking distance to central Portland.There is also a Street Car stop very close to the hotel. As we were there for a week we developed quite a rapport with the staff who ensured our stay was memorable, so a special thank you to Felix, Taylor and Parker for all your assistence

Room Tip: A room that is quiet and at night no street lighting is to get in, so good drapes. Oh and bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Lawrence F,
We appreciate your time and feedback! Thank you for staying at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good hotel that is located slightly outside of downtown Portland. Have to pay for parking so add $25 per night minimum for parking. Large rooms very clean with typical Residence in efficiency styling. I like this hotel because you are not trapped downtown and there are several good restaurants within walking distance and there is a commuter train station just outside the front door.

Room Tip: There are expressways outside the back of the hotel so if you need really quite rooms ask to be at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear bthaynes,
We're glad to know that Residence Inn RiverPlace was just the perfect hotel for you! Our location is not in central downtown, but so close that everything is in reach without being caught in the busyness of it all. We appreciate your comment about the cleanliness of the hotel also! Thank you for your valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#22 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Portland
#17 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.