We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip with free parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #41 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Harbor
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Business trip with free parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

On a business trip to Portland, not the hotel I would have picked as our meeting was in Northeast, but overall a good stay. The hotel is in a great neighborhood with some really great restaurants, bars and shopping a short walk away. Unfortunately it rained all but our first night in town so we didn't do a great deal of exploring. Not having a restaurant or bar in the hotel was a downside, but at a holiday inn express I didn't expect one. The breakfast wasn't great, but what do you expect from a hotel breakfast buffet? The pool area was clean and neat, without the strong chlorine smell of some hotel pools. My room was clean, but the housekeeping wasn't stellar. No shampoo the second day of a four day stay and no new cups. The in room and breakfast bar coffee was AWFUL and only one package of coffee in room ( about two cups) but there were 4 coffee cups. No way would there have been enough coffee for four. I loved the array of pillows I could pick one that was closest to mine at home. Overall a good stay, nothing glaringly good or bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hello Paulie H

Thank you so much for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our breakfast choices, or the housekeeping service that you received. I will be sure to forward all of your comments onto our housekeeping manager so that we can fix this issue and be sure it doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I moved here on a whim because I didn't like where I stayed last night. I thought I would stay in Vancouver, WA instead of Downtown Portland, OR to save my company a little money. Not only is this property less per night, but included internet, parking, and breakfast. The desk staff were genuinely friendly (instead of fake smile fake customer service style friendly). Parking is not only free, but convenient. This hotel is walking distance to tons of shops and good Eats on trendy 23rd. I'm in 3+ hotels per week and this will be my new "Go To" place when I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get a West facing room for a green view. Very happy with 412 for this reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Mustang-PoulsboWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello 65Mustang-poulsboWA

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed one night here - didn't know Portland but found I could walk / ride the tram to everywhere I wanted to visit. Good example of a good Holiday Inn Express - safe area, pleasant clean room, clean self-service laundry, free strong wifi, clean bathroom with good strong shower, good breakfast. Friendly service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello rebshep

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and all the things our hotel has to offer. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We and another couple spent 3 nights here and were so impressed with the accomodations and the staff. The full free breakfasts are great! Try the biscuits & gravy. I really liked the scrambled eggs and the omelets. If we were missing anything in our rooms, they were right up with the replacement. Great internet service, too. I highly recommend this location and will stay here again when in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edunn782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi edunn782

Thank you for your review! We are overjoyed to hear about the positive experience you had with our breakfast, and staff. We can't wait to see you again the next time you're in Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in Portland as part of new England road trip. The hotel is fairly standard holiday inn, but does the job well. Nice helpful staff and good location for seeing Portland. Portland is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi there Liz G

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please consider us during your next visit to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Everything in Portland was a 5min car ride or 30 min walk away. Room was clean and room service was timely and good. Everybody was friendly at the front desk every day. The breakfast could use a little more love, but free is still free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear greg o

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback about our breakfast. We are in the process of introducing some delicious new breakfast items! We hope you will come back and see us soon to try them out.

Tiffany Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for our 2nd night as part of a road trip. The location seemed random at first but was very convenient for getting around Portland and onto the freeway. The building was older than many Holiday Inns we have stayed in but it was clean and well maintained. All the staff we encountered while staying here were very friendly. We had a spacious corner room with a mini fridge and microwave and it was fairly quiet considering it's proximity to some fairly busy roads. We were able to walk down the street a couple blocks to an up and coming neighborhood that had a lot of cute restaurants. We ate at a kid-friendly Italian place. In the evening we were able to get to Lloyd Center Mall very quickly and go ice skating at the indoor rink. In the morning we had the breakfast downstairs at the hotel and then were able to hop on the freeway to go to the Oregon Zoo. I would recommend staying here as a good central location when visiting the Portland area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank snowgirltwentytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello snowgirltwentytwo

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are indeed located near some very neat entertainment spots here in Portland! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again soon!


Tiffany Patterson
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#55 of 135 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing