We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed 3 nights and was delighted with every aspect. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Very good mattress and the sheets felt expensive, so soft. The complimentary breakfast did not have the waffle maker like many do, but the hot items were scrambled eggs and bacon one morning, and cheese omelets and sausage the next, with biscuits and gravy both days. Plus the usual assortment of breads, juices, and yogurts, plus 3 flavors of coffee and a good selection of teas. I am always impressed by Portland's commitment to being green and even took a photo of the recycling center in the breakfast area. Front desk was very helpful several times to answer questions, give us a free toothpaste (I expected to buy it in the small convenience mart off the lobby) and sell stamps. In addition to free WiFi, there is a guest computer with free printer, which was very convenient for boarding passes. Enjoyed the comfortable sitting area off the lobby near a nice fire. Room and bathroom were spacious. Bath & Body Works citrus toiletries and even a facial cleansing moist cloth were a nice touch. We also used the guest laundry and saw many using the indoor pool. The corner of Vaughn and 23rd is not picturesque, BUT within walking distance (if you don't want to drive around looking for the on-street parking), several blocks down 23rd is a charming area with a wide variety of many great restaurants and boutiques. There might be a guide or map because not all are on 23rd, such as a Middle Eastern on 21st which our son said has belly dancing on 21st (I think). This is such a terrific value and will stay here again as we have family in Portland.

Room Tip: Only tip is the elevator is slow and if you don't want to climb stairs to the upper floors, go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello Sunsetwoman1

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review! We appreciate such positive feedback from our guests. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Portland, and get a chance to check out our great pancake machine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    107
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
71
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Delighted to find such a reasonably priced, well located hotel. First pulled up with two teens who were skeptical of the location, but after a five minute walk we knew we were in the right place. A Foodies delight for small bistros and diners with unique shops to boot. Besaw's was great! A coop grocery a couple of blocks away. We drove to MODA for a trailblazers game in under 10 minutes. To Powell's bookstore by tram in no time. Used pool and hot tub daily. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Service was gracious. Breakfast is chain food...but coffee was tolerable. I have stayed at the Benson and the Westin in past trips, but enjoyed this more at half the cost.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi pkelly7!

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our location, and our amenities! We love to hear such positive things from our guests. We hope to see you again!

Tiffany Patterson
Guest Service Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here 9 years ago and again this week. Very spacious room that was clean and quiet. Very convenient location IMHO near the expressway and downtown.

The breakfast was average but the service was good at the hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi trbeer

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you chose to stay with us on your recent visit to Portland! We are glad you decided to come back, and we hope that you will consider us for your future visits to Portland as well.

Tiffany Patterson
Guest Service Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

everything very clean, staff polite and accommodating, walking distance to many places..that's why we keep coming back. the elevator is slow, taking the stairs is faster if you can. HD selection very good, although we never visit to stay in and watch HD. quiet area. the

Room Tip: all rooms are good. the elevator is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Kevin0323

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that we are your hotel of choice when you visit our beautiful city of Portland. We hope to see you again very soon!

Tiffany Patterson
Guest Service Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very friendly. It is only a $6.00 cab ride to the Pearl District. The room was very clean and well furnished. The television was in HD. Bathroom was very spacious. I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello Mark0076!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed much of what our location, and amenities have to offer. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Rose City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was comfortable with great beds and bed linens..plenty of pillows...slept like a baby. The room was clean. Shower was hot, but not much water pressure. Pizza delivered by recommended place nearby was delicious. The breakfast will do...pastries were yummy and the coffee was hot. I liked the way the parking was in an interior court making it seem more safe for our vehicle.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that doesn't look out on a wall if I were you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Mary R


We appreciate all of your wonderful comments. It gives us great joy to know that we are providing our guests with great service, and amenities! Hope to see you on your next visit to the Rose City!


Tiffany Patterson
Guest Service Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express hotel. The quality and service are what you would expect. The location looks bad at first, as it is so near a main road junction, but in fact it is a short walk into some really interesting parts of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Helen P

Thanks so much for taking the time out to write your review. You are infact right about our location, it is quite wonderful. We love being able to give our guests great options to visit for restaurants, and shopping while in Portland. We hope you will stay with us when visiting Portland again!


Tiffany Patterson
Guest Service Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.