We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in an odd place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 23

Bistro 23
5530 NE 122nd Ave, Portland, OR
+1 503-262-5200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Bistro, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great spot in an odd place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great made to order menu with fresh ingredients. The Mac and Cheese is pretty awesome, paired with a microbrew. An order of the chicken wings...not your usual sports pub style but honest to goodness made to order wings. Great spot, simple chalk board menu to order from. if you are overnighting waiting for a flight, makes a great choice amongst the run of the mill restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough for those living in the Parkrose Area of Portland or Traveling to Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I first went to this little place tucked in next to a UHAUL dealer out of convenience on a busy day last year and I never stopped going back. You save money by ordering at a counter and bussing your own table. But the extra work is worth the quality you receive with the food and service. This place is literally a jewel in an area with FAR too many fast food choices. Everything here is hand made and I feel like its just about gourmet food on a budget. The staff is very friendly and actually remembers you and treats you like part of the family. The place is my favorite place to eat in my neighborhood. It is casual and its decorated to be relaxing. You cant go wrong with Bistro 23 ! P.S. PDX travelers. Its near the Airport. Tell them Tom from Tripadvisor sent you !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find near my hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great menu with "normal" as well as very unique items. The macaroni and cheese is fantastic as well as the chicken wings (actually full legs). The pizza wasn't as good as I hoped but everything else I ate was great! Highly recommend giving them a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Awesome food and great location. Unique options at a great price. Will come back for sure! The meatball sliders and chicken pesto are great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel desk mentioned Bistro 23 when I asked for a place with good quality food and not the usual deep fried type. So glad they told me about this. My first look at the menu delighted me. I had hoped for sit down service, but order and service went very smoothly. Staff were very friendly and my meal arrived quickly. I ordered the Organic beet and apple salad with goat cheese, and requested an add on of roasted chicken. Also had a nice wine to go with it. I told the server that was a salad I would be dreaming about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 23 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.