We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh - Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Hotel to your Saves list
Paramount Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited time - 15% off!
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Portland
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Meh - Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Paramount wound up our choice for a quick weekend in and about Portland (since the Sentinel was unavailable). We wanted something downtown and the reviews were good enough for the Paramount. Good would be a stretch for our experience this last weekend.

I guess the bar was set for our visit when we pulled up to valet park ($31 – yikes!) and the attendant stood idle as I had to unload our bags and bring them curbside – really?! Reception was efficient enough and we were off to our 12th floor room promptly. We booked a “King Deluxe” (per other reviews) but were disappointed that our “view room” included a peek at the rooftop parking garage next door and a construction site across Director Park. We would have usually headed back to reception and asked for an alternate room but were too tired to bother.

The room was ok – quite large really – but nothing special and a little tired. The bath was large and had a shower and Jacuzzi tub. The soak was eagerly anticipated but seems the jets had lost their gusto? I had noticed a comment about the “Lemon Pledge” bath/shower gels and shampoo so, it was a bit comical to lather up smelling like a freshly polished dining table. Management might want to re-think that one.

Our stay was wrapped up by being jarred from our sleep at 6:00am (on a Sunday!) by an over zealous power washer down on the street. While the hotel had little control over a nit-wit city employee – double-paned windows would have minimized the ridiculous noise. The front desk staff offered little condolence when we questioned the incident at checkout. Oh well.

I suspect that we’ll look for another option next time we’re in Portland. Meh.

Room Tip: Definitely take a peek at your room before settling in. If you pay for a corner "view room"...
See more room tips
Green Features: We liked the use of wall mounted shower products to minimize packaging but the "lemony" scent was less than desirable.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    255
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
114
294
44
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am in Portland about 6-10 times a year on business and I have stayed at all of the better downtown boutique Hotels except the large national chains - which I avoid everywhere I go.

My favorite has always been The Hotel deLuxe! But, I recently discovered The Paramount Hotel Portland and while it's not "quite" as cool as the deLuxe it is a significant value and it is better located. Service is excellent, especially the doorman Ed who recommended the South Park restaurant - I'll review that in a minute! They also have an attractive and attentive young lady door person/valet...something much needed in this lively and liberal town. I actually, suggested it to the Hotel Monaco management a year ago...they've not acted on my idea.

So, I don't think you can go wrong with any of my favoites, the Nines to the the Vintage - but, you'll love the price point and location of the Paramount. Try it!

Room Tip: I like the corner rooms facing south the rooms facing north offer entertaining viewing of the Park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you Rich C! True, we aren’t the coolest hotel around, but we got over that years ago. We prefer to be known for value and location, so you nailed it. Hope to welcome you back again for one of your future trips.

Safe travels -
Norm Hwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The staff was really incredible. Every time we had a question or request they went above and beyond to try to accommodate us, instead of just trying to pass us off or take the easy way out. This was the case from the time we checked in trough to after we checked out, including a personal email from the manager to follow up on a specific request we had. Very impressed and we will definitely stay here again.

Green Features: We were visiting from Florida and it was just refreshing to see the environmental awareness the Paramount practices. I think this is pretty wide-spread in Portland, but good to see first hand and good to see the Paramount is front and center with it.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
TPAtoPDX2014, thank you for your review and recognizing our incredible staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty, centrally located, and nicely furnished hotel with pleasant customer service. The restaurant was closed and there is no on site parking. Maid service was dreadful -- our maid left our used coffee pod in the pot, which wrecked our tea, failed to refill the coffee supply, took away all our cups, and took our soap without leaving any new. But all was redeemed by the amazing, incredible Ed, the concierge. Don't miss talking to him about restaurants and things to do -- he knows Portland backwards and is a restaurant whisperer who will make your meals transcendental.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice The Paramount Hotel was. It isn't managed by a big chain, but still offers all the elegance and amenities you would enjoy at one, only with super Oregon-friendly and personable staff, from the kind folks at the reception desk to the happy doorman. Upon our arrival we were told we'd been upgraded to a corner room on the 11th floor, as I had hoped for, with windows on two sides which looked out over Pioneer Square/Director Park, and beyond to a beautiful city-scape. It was outfitted in tasteful contemporary decor, and was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Since their restaurant was being renovated when we were there (the end of April 2014) we can't comment on that. Our first day it took quite a while for the shower water to get hot, but after that there was never a problem, so maybe it had simply been a while since it had been used.
The lobby is elegant and artistically decorated. The concierge was very helpful in getting us a rental car, as we had to continue south where we had friends and relatives to visit. We love to walk so never did take the MAX light rail, but it was nearby. You can't ask for a better location with shops, restaurants, concert halls and museums all either right there or a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. You may just get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and our trip started in Portland. We chose Paramount after seeing the reviews on here and were NOT disappointed. Our flight got in around 10:30 and the hotel accommodated our early arrival, something I wasn't expecting. I made a request through my booking for a room on an upper floor and we received exactly that, a nice room on the 14th floor. Throughout our stay we asked the front desk several questions on transportion and places to eat and they were more then helpful and polite. We even had a small note saying "Happy First Anniversary" and box of chocolates placed in our room while we stepped out during our first day. We really appreciated that.

A hotel that pays attention to detail and provides great service, yes please! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the upper floors, it will drown out any street noise. Excellent view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the great review and happy to see that we were able to get you into your room in the morning. Love to have you back for your second Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We're just wrapping up a 3 night stay at this wonderful centrally located hotel. Staff has been so warm and friendly, recommending a great open late frozen yogurt place on the first night and places to watch the basketball playoffs last night. All recommendations have been perfect. The hotel is super comfortable with well appointed large rooms, many with great views. There is free wifi throughout. Prices are competitive, but this is a high value for the money. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciated all of the little touches designed towards efficiency. Portland is a city that cares, and the Paramount is no exception.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
bnelson88, thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#15 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.