We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paramount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New restaurant & bar!
Ranked #17 of 132 hotels in Portland
alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here July 20-23. I had asked for a early check in and a high floor since I had read other reviews of street noise. I got both! The only problem was the group of ladies next door the last two nights that did not respect other guests late at night. Very noisy when they came it. We just turned the AC lower to drown the noise! Doorman was very nice as well as front desk. Very knowledgeable of restaurants. TE has a great breakfast - wonderful French Toast!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and hope you don't get noisy neighbors late at night! There was no pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    228
    46
    21
    10
See reviews for
100
260
42
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travel to Portland several times a year and almost always stay at the Paramount. The central location is very convenient, I've always received excellent service from the staff, and I really enjoy the Te restaurant. I highly recommend the Paramount for stays in central Portland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you CharlesGrant, see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Delightful bed and pillows and high-quality linens; simple, tasteful decor; large size room and bath, convenient location, exercise room with towels and water (nice!).

The hotel also has doormen which is more useful than I'd ever thought. They were available about 50 percent of the time though.

Price is about $20 more than I wanted to pay hence the 4 stars.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Paramount was ideal for us. It,s situated centrally in downtown, a short walk to everything we wanted to see and do.

It's small to medium in size, an older property that I understand was recently renovated. Our room on the 7th floor was quiet and roomy, and well equipped, with coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, iron & ironing board. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spacious and clean, again well equipped.

The staff were invariably courteous, helpful and friendly, and the reception personnel welcoming and informative. (I note a previous customer felt the doormen were not always available, which is not the case in our experience.)

We'd definitely stay again.

Green Features: The Paramount Hotel conforms with current practice, even providing a separate waste bin for recyclables, which we hadn't encountered previously.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you 546HilaryJ04, we appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I booked this room though a travel agent (american express). I did not get the company rate for the weekend and had to pay $60 more on the weekend. This rate also did not include breakfast. They refused to comp $4. That is unacceptable.

Room Tip: The lower floors have street noise. Trash trucks come by very early. I had a room on the 2nd and 9th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We called the hotel in the morning to see about early check in. We arrived an hour later and our room was ready! Room is very nice, clean and quiet. Comfy beds. Nice large bathrooms. Lots of plug ins for all our gadgets too!!

Downside: valet parking is 31.00 dollars.
Next block up on the left - overnight parking is 15.00.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just stayed one night in May 2013. Not a very large hotel, which I liked. Very friendly front desk staff. We did not try the hotel restaurant, but heard great things about it. As soon as we checked in, we walked outside and the valet man (Brandon?, Brayden?), asked if we needed anything. My husband said, "We are looking for a good place for dinner, within walking distance. We like good beer and good meat." The valet man pointed us to the Ringside Steakhouse a block away, and recommended that we order a local brew on tap and get the steak bites for happy hour. We did what he said and he couldn't have been more on the mark. Boom. Delicious. Thank you Paramount valet guy.

Room Tip: Valet is $30 per night; some rooms do not have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.