We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "hypoallergenic" location in downtown Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Hotel to your Saves list
Paramount Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited time - 15% off!
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Kirkland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect "hypoallergenic" location in downtown Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on an overnight weekend getaway, having taken the train to Portland from Seattle. We selected this hotel because it is NOT pet friendly, and I have allergies. I only found it after calling about ten other downtown hotels, which all allow pets. This one is about a mile from the train station, so we walked. The staff was very friendly, the lobby lovely, and our room comfortable and quiet. Both my husband and I slept like logs. We were delighted when we discovered how close this hotel is to theater, concert hall, art museum, etc., in downtown Portland and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello MeganKirkland – Thank you for your nice review and kind words about your visit. Along with our no-pet policy, our pillows, blankets & mattress toppers are also hypoallergenic.

Hope to see you again soon -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    255
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
114
294
44
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved this hotel's location & staff. Gave us a free room upgrade. Bathroom & room overall were super clean. Top floor was quiet. I'd be concerned about street noise on lower floors. Only complaint was water was never hot enough, no matter what time of day I took a shower.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers: clean, convenient/great location if you're sticking around downtown, friendly staff. I think it's a great value for the price.
Also, I want to point out that I ran into a celebrity staying on the same floor, so I figured this place must be nice if they've got celebrities staying there!

I came very close to giving it 5 stars, but didn't for only 2 reasons.
1) I unexpectedly had to do some work while I was there and ended up having to use their business center. It was a tiny room with 2 computers and a printer. That's fine, but the internet on the computer I was on was painfully slow.
2) We had a fun whirlpool tub in our bathroom, but the bath crystals/salts they give you just aren't enough for the size of those bad boys. I noticed they were conscious of their bathroom amenities/toiletries (there's a note about it), but their vendor really should step it up.

Maybe I'm just being picky... But other than that, the Paramount is a great choice and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I arrived at 11AM expecting just to drop off my luggage for a Sunday stay. They found me a pleasant room on the 15th floor looking east, which was nice as I felt comfortable dropping my laptop off in the room instead of lugging it around town. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but no safe. The staff turned me on to the best breakfast place I have ever experienced in Portland. You will have to ask them about it as I'm not telling.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, or
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were very impressed with the overall dedication to service from the entire staff. From first walking in to saying our last goodbye, everyone was warm and inviting. Our room was more than comfortable - the bed was hard to leave, it was so comfortable. Overall, a wonderful, memorable experience for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. I would love to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the corner room for its views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Shanniemac, Happy Anniversary and thank you for the review! Wishing you many more wonderful years together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our last trip to Portland. It was an amazing experience. The rooms were very clean and there was a jet tub in our bathroom! The location was awesome, we were within walking distance from everything. The rooms were very affordable, parking was a little steep but you get in and out privileges with valet service so that was nice. Service was very friendly, this will be our go to hotel whenever we are in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks so much for the review Cassie N!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Paramount. The hotel is in the perfect location right near the downtown shopping areas (Nordstrom, Nike Town, Macy's, etc.) and is within walking distance of several great restaurants and coffee shops.

We stayed in a corner Executive Guest Room which was spacious and perhaps a bit quieter than some other rooms since the "bedroom" was tucked away in the corner. We loved the spacious bathroom with the glass shower and jetted tub. The bed was seriously one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. We had a view of Director Park. The walls did seem a bit thin and we could hear people coming and going late at night, but it wasn't so bad that our sleep was disturbed. We were on the 8th floor and there was some street noise, but again, nothing out of the ordinary for a hotel located in a downtown area.

The room was also equipped with a mini fridge and we stocked it with snacks and water purchased from the Flying Elephant which is just across the street in the Fox Tower. Highly recommend stopping there for a quick, healthy bite to eat.

There were several delicious options for coffee nearby, including Starbucks, but local options like Stumptown and The Fresh Pot were also just a few blocks away. We walked to Powell's a couple of times and also took advantage of the Max since we were attending a conference at the Portland Convention Center. The nearest Max stop was just a block or so away. Though they have valet with in and out privileges, we never needed our car.

We were very pleased with the price as it seemed to be a bit less than comparable nearby hotels (especially considering that we were checking in on a long, holiday weekend).

Highly recommend checking out this small (ish) downtown Portland hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if possible. The Executive Corner rooms are spacious and full of na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#15 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.