We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience/good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paramount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New restaurant & bar!
Ranked #17 of 132 hotels in Portland
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good experience/good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We chose the Paramount because our children who are moving to Portland were being housed there for a week. It's in a very good location: Starbucks on the corner, Nordstrom across the street, art museum a few blocks away. We appreciated the senior citizen rate and found the room to be very comfortable. If light bothers you at night, you may not want to stay in the rooms in the front of the building as you cannot close the curtain and the room does not get completely dark due to the bright lights in the square across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building get a lot of light throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your review Marlene N! Come back and stay with us again on your next visit to see your children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    227
    46
    21
    10
See reviews for
98
260
42
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

As a Christmas present to ourselves, my wife and I spent a couple of nights here in late December. It met all of our expectations. Comfortable rooms in a perfect location with easy access to everything with free public transportation. Portland is a very people friendly city. The Dragonfish also has a good happy hour with $4 wine and $2 - $5 small plates. Best happy hour is at the Ring Fish House. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you don't need your car, parking is cheaper at the public parking lots. My only complaint is the hotel TV package which has no premium channels nor many of the channels we're used to at home.

Room Tip: Join the Coast Hotels to get best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Happy Holidays tbierdz! Thank you for choosing us as part of your present. Hopefully this will be a new tradition and we will see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed for eight nights in early December. Hotel staff are very attentive. Room was very nice with great amenities. Location could not have been better as most of our visit focused on Portland State Music activites. Hotel is in the heart of downtown and very convenient to MAX, streetcars and buses allowing quick access to many of Portland's fine stores, restaurants and services. Highly recommend this superbly managed hotel and its fine staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and compliments! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed for three nights in December. It was very easy to get to the hotel from the airport on MAX - only a two block walk. Doormen were on hand to open the lobby doors, although they did not offer to help with bags (perhaps because I had a roller bag). Check in was welcoming and efficient. Room was standard size and well appointed with desk, lounge chair and ottoman, comfortable bed, dresser, flat screen TV, good lighting. Bathroom had good lighting and usual amenities. However, body wash, shampoo and conditioner were not provided in containers, but instead were in large pump dispensers inside the bath/shower, and were awkward to use. Housekeeping was thorough and efficient. Restaurant downstairs is an asian bistro, but it also served typical breakfast fare at not outrageous prices (notable exception: price of a cup of coffee was bloated) (if all you want is coffee, Starbucks is very close). All in all, a nice hotel providing good value. And the downtown location is terrific. Would be happy to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for the review and comments hrza04a, they are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My spouse has been working in Portland for several months and his company offers The Paramount as one of the many downtown locations in Portland. My spouse has been telling me how much he likes it here and after joining him here this week I know why. Staff is super nice and rooms are nice but the biggest surprise is how large the rooms are for a downtown property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments Oregonyo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Was put up here for business that I turned into a family vacation. The place is great. It is located downtown and you can get pretty much anywhere with-in walking distance. When we arrived I asked if we could get a top floor and the person at the front desk gave us the top floor. The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The only thing bad about the hotel is the $30.00 a day for parking and you are allowed to to come and go with that. Best bet it to park in the theater across the street if you are not wanting to pay that much and take the max where you need to go..

Room Tip: ask for a high floor because the noise from outside can be a little noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your review skurvy1! Hope to have you and your family back for another vacation soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. We were very happy with our room and package and the service attendants were very nice. The next day it came to our attention that we had not received some of our perks with our "sweets for your sweet" package. After talking with the front desk they not only gave us the forgotten part of our package, but also a free breakfast ($30 value), valet parking ($35 value), two mini bottles of champagne, AND sent us an appology letter with a free one night stay with a package included. They went above and beyond to make an already wonderful stay an incredible one. We are very excited to claim our free stay. The Paramount had excellent customer service, wonderful rooms, great location and food. I would recommend this place to anyone for a special occasion or just because!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.