We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Comfortable Beds at Crowne Plaza in Portland, OR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Most Comfortable Beds at Crowne Plaza in Portland, OR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was traveling on a 15 day bus tour that started in San Diego and ended in Seattle, so this was nearing the end of our trip.

The hotel was one of the best I stayed at during the trip (sorry but top honors have to go to the Marriott Marquis in SF). It looks like the hotel was recently renovated, the rooms and decor were spotless. I was on the 6th floor, view wasn't that great but didn't matter to me. The beds were a little higher than normal but so comfortable (I wish we could have stayed here more than one night). The room also had fridge, microwave and Keurig coffee station. The bathroom was immaculate as well, wish I had this bathroom in my townhouse.

We received a coupon for a free breakfast and it was well worth it. This was probably the best breakfast buffet experience for me during the trip. They had an array of breakfast foods to choose from and everything tasted great. I just wish we had more time to stay in Portland, only got to visit the "Rose Gardens" and drive thru the city and sightsee from the bus.

I found a Denny's to eat that was within walking distance from the hotel (also saw a "Red Robin" but decided to stick with Denny's $6-$8 value meals). I went with a couple people from our tour and afterwards we walked over to Lloyd's Mall and killed some time before we returned back to the hotel to turn in for the night.

I would like to come back to Portland in the future and I would stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Best breakfast buffet I ever had at a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the in room amenities and the Crowne Plaza bedding package, it is a hallmark of our brand. I was also pleased that you recognized the exceptional food that our chef and the entire food team enjoy presenting. I look forward to sharing your review with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    165
    42
    21
    17
See reviews for
91
100
43
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
spokane
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed at this hotel for three nights. it was 100% occupancy, yet was quiet and ran efficiently.

pros: quiet, keurig coffee maker in room, DVD's available for free, nice shampoo, lotion, comfortable bed, self parking spot was available every day. easy to drive to town, north end of portland & easy on/off freeway access.
cons: just a few minor details: coffee maker did not work the first AM & safe did not operate, call to front desk had maintenance up quickly. 1" tear in sofa cushion & piece on bathroom faucet was missing(? attention to detail)

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: room on upper floor, we were facing east on the 10th floor and the room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you had a quiet and relaxing stay however I do want to apologize that you found some items in the room that needed attention. I am pleased that we were able to take care of them quickly and I will be sharing the review with my maintenance team so we can do better in the future. Thanks for staying I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Comfortable, and clean, clean, clean. This facility lives up to the highest standard you expect from a Crowne Plaza. Large and updated rooms with excellent linens. The staff is efficient and friendly including the breakfast room staff. The breakfast food was great. The hotel staff recommended a seafood restaurant for dinner and had their free shuttle take us and bring us back. I do agree that there aren't many places to walk to. The location is on the east side of the river with most of the action on the west side of the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you enjoyed the comfortable bed package and sleep amenities. I also wanted to thank you for noticing how clean and well maintained the hotel is as my staff and I are very proud of our reputation of superior cleanliness. I will sincerely enjoy sharing this review.
Thanks for staying and please let me know if I can be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A clean, beautiful hotel. Good restaurant, with breakfast buffet on the weekends with homemade raspberry jam that was exceptional! Walking distance to a mall, and public transportation. The room was quiet with a great view. I think it was the cleanest hotel I have ever seen, with very freindly and helpful staff. Free WIFI, free movies, and a Keurig in the room. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: the king room had a couch
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is doing their part to reduce waste, recycle and reuse. It is part of being in Portland!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. Being recognized for exceptional detail in regard to cleanliness makes my team and I very proud. Please let me know if I can be of service when you make your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had a great experience at this hotel. However, the restaurant in the hotel misled some people about their buffet breakfast & menu, but in the end everything was handled.
Other than that, the hotel itself was a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We appreciate you mentioning that the staff was friendly and helpful; I will let them know they were recognized.
Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was exactly as we hoped - we knew where it was and wanted a hotel in that area as we were visiting family nearby. Our rooms were quiet (we were on the 10th floor) and clean, with nice amenities (Keurig coffee pot, good quality soaps and shampoo, shower cap, in-room safe, and more) and comfortable beds (I am really picky about this). The hotel had been somewhat recently remodeled and everything has an updated or new appearance. The staff was courteous and helpful. We had a slight problem at check-in - our reservation was for a lower price that what came up in their system. But the clerk apologized and corrected it when I showed him my confirmation. Every system can have a problem, but if staff fixes the problem with a good attitude, I do not mind at all. (Just have your confirmation either printed out or on your smart phone...but this is a good idea anywhere.)

The location is great if you are going to the convention center or have need to be in the NE area. The streetcar is also just a block away and can get you quickly to the Pearl or SW. (I love the Portland public transportation!) Note on the streetcar that it doesn't run all night - so if you are planning to be out in the Pearl until midnight, you will be taking a cab back. Check the schedule. The hotel is also a short walk from the Max Redline stop ("Convention Center" stop) coming from the airport. (The hotel offers a free shuttle to/from airport, but I like the train.) The negative on location of this hotel is that there is little to see within walking distance. The hotel has a coffee shop off of the lobby and there is a Starbucks a block or two away, but there is little else for an eatery without taking a cab or the streetcar.

The hotel does offer loaner bikes. So you could take a bike up to Mississippi Street - there are lots of restaurants and shops there. Someone at the hotel recommended that we walk up Broadway (away from the river) to find a restaurant, but it really wasn't a great area. We would rather have taken the streetcar again across the river, or a cab up to Mississippi.

This hotel tends to run lower in rates than the downtown locations. If I could get a good rate at a hotel that was near the Max Redline and streetcar and near shops and restaurants, I would probably opt for that next time. But chances are this hotel will be cheaper, and that has to be considered, especially when you can get to the shops and restaurants so quickly by streetcar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your informative review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel amenities and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We came in for a soccer tournament and the service & staff were great. The shuttle was an added bonus with great drivers. Would definitely stay here again.
The pool hot tub area was very well maintained and also had the wheel chair assists for the pool & hot tub. Great location if you are going to the rose bowl for a concert.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Portland Downtown and we look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#30 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.