We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great craft beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grain & Gristle

Grain & Gristle
1473 NE Prescott St, Portland, OR 97211-5174
503-688-5393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #464 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great craft beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We found this by mistake while looking for Podnah's pit BBQ (which I'm guessing this replaced). What a very happy accident, we walked in off the street and sat down to a fabulous meal, really excellent value too (appetisers, mains and 1 beer each for 3 people came to $65). We liked the atmosphere plus the staff are really friendly. Would heartily recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“There Are Better Places To Eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a place that was highly recommended by a couple of friends. The reviews were good, too, so my expectactions were high.

I like the casual atmosphere. We were seated at a corner window table. Damn, it was cold! It was about 35 outside and my boyfriend said he might need to go outside to warm up. My coat was buttoned up to my chin and my scarf was double wrapped around my neck as I asked the server to turn off the air. That did the trick and I was soon warm and cozy.

We each ordered a salad and they were both flavorful, fresh and I decided that I need to eat more arugula in 2012 and beyond. The arugula salad with apples and blue cheese was crunchy, creamy and delicious. My boyfriend was attacking my sald plate before he even gave his a glance. Had to bat his fork away!

I ordered the mussels and my boyfriend ordered the chorizo on creamy beans. From the time we finished our salads to the time our entrees came out, 20 minutes had passed (restaurant was two thirds full). Too long and no one bothered to explain why it took so long. Acknowledgement goes a long way.

Our food finally arrived and my mussels frites were served cold. I was famished so I let the server know that my dish was cold but that I was hungry so I wouldn't mind eating the cold mussels as long as I got a fresh order of hot fries. Well, before I could stop her that dish disappeared out from under me and was whisked back into the kitchen. As my boyfriend ate his meal, I waited and waited for my dish to come out. He was completely finished by the time my mussels came out.

Unfortunately, the mussels tripped and fell flat on their little mussel faces in flavor. Some garlic, herbs and wine would go a long way to impart some flavor into these, although they were cooked perfectly.

With so many great places to eat in Portland, I probably won't return unless I go for a beer.

They did comp the mussels, btw.
Edit Remove

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I first tried G&G in Dec 2011 when I was on a Portland neighborhood walk-about. I walked up to N. Alberta but didn't find a place to have an afternoon beer. I ventured down NE 15th and happened upon a simple looking building that appeared to be a pub. I cozied up to the most beautiful bar surface made out of rough edged Oregon coast maple. G&G has an ever changing list of fresh local brews on tap and I had a soup and salad that hit the spot. Liked the place so much I returned with a friend later in December on another visit to Portland and had some excellent appetizers. My recent visit on a Saturday afternoon had some wonderful late afternoon breakfast foods with some excellent local beer. I learned that they get a full pig once a week and dress it out to make all kinds of fantastic pork dishes. The ham slice with scrambles eggs was delicious. This is a place I will return to over and over again. Good service, great food, and good local Portland NE neighborhood vibe.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I found this place by accident; I was looking for the Thai restaurant next door that’s closed for renovations. As you walk in the first thing you see is the bar with the massive black board behind it, loaded with the daily specials. You seat yourself and a server comes over with a menu and water. As I looked over the menu my three favorite things all together between a bun had my name all over it. The hamburger with Bacon, cheese and fried egg…I’m in heaven! Added a side salad and a coke, just to balance it out. It was so good and only nine bucks!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of bistro-style plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Wow! This is a warm, friendly place featuring a limited number of imaginative and well-prepared small dishes. The braised pork shoulder is meltingly good and the moules frites are worthy of Paris. The portion sizes are smaller than most upscale restaurants but perfectly adequate for a meal. They price accordingly - generally between $8 and $14 for entrees and a pretty good "twofer" deal that changes frequently.

The space itself is softly lit with lots of wood. The tables can be combined or kept separate to accommodate parties of varying sizes. There's a comfortable bar in the middle of it all.

The waitstaff are very friendly and quick with suggestions and service. I plan to return often!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grain & Gristle also viewed

 

Been to Grain & Gristle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grain & Gristle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.