We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Bistro in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Bird Bistro

Little Bird Bistro
219 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204-1805 (Downtown)
503-688-5952
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Bird Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE
Transit: The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street. The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great French Bistro in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The doorman at our hotel recommended Little Bird and it was the best meal of our two week trip through Washington and Oregon. Classic French Bistro with a very interesting menu. We started with roasted bone marrow and a blood sausage frisee salad. Both were marvelous. The service was great, helpful and attentive but not rushed. We had no problem walking in at 7:00 pm on a Thursday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    66
    29
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the better places to eat in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

These folks do a really good job and the place is really nice but sorta small. It is one of the "it" spots in Portland now so get a reservation or go early/off times. That said we have walked in twice and gotten right in; the first time we sat at the bar and the other upstairs. If you call ask for a table on the main floor.

The food is good and the overall feel of the place is just sort of cool. Great salads, burger and good atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleden, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful bistro, fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were visiting Portland and had read great reviews prior to arriving so Little Bird Bistro was at the top of our dining list. Unfortunately, we were unaware of just how popular this place is. We arrived on a Sunday and didn't think we'd need a reservation but we couldn't have been more mistaken. Without a reservation, there was a two-hour wait ~ on a Sunday evening! Disappointed but wiser, we made a reservation for the next evening and it was so worth the wait. The food was absolute perfection, the staff extremely knowledgeable and personable and the ambience wonderful. We'll go again and again whenever we're in Portland!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“pros outweigh the cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the food is hands-down perfection from start to finish. however, my boss and others i know have stopped dining here due to the overly-serious servers who are actually so stiff and uber-professional that it infringes on the dining experience. on one occasion, the kitchen lost our order, as well as the table next to us. the neighboring table complained about it, and their apps and desserts were comped. we didn't complain; nothing was comped, which was kind of rude if you think about it, considering we had just overheard them comp our neighbors. squeaky wheel, i guess. lame.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little bird Bistro a Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Portland u must make a reservation before you leave at this excellent bistro.. we were three adult foodies each having three different exceptions to what we cannot eat (ie. shellfish, pork, gluten) The chef and staff were not only accomodating they had excellent suggestions and accomodations; Each dish was excellent and they were exceptionally friendly

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bird Bistro also viewed

 
Portland, OR
 

Been to Little Bird Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Bird Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.