We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Oasis - Beautiful Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lan Su Chinese Garden

Lan Su Chinese Garden
239 NW Everett Street, Portland, OR 97209 (Old Town - Chinatown)
503-228-8131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in fall of 2000, this is the largest Suzhou style garden outside of China.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis - Beautiful Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was on the list of things to do in Portland. I visited it under less than ideal conditions - very cold temperatures on a December day. In fact, they did not open until noon to allow the ice to melt naturally. I had a lovely guided tour of the garden. I can imagine that it is quite beautiful in the spring/summer/fall. I would allow about 1.5 hours to visit (if you take the tour). I thought the entrance fee was a little steep at $9.50 per adult. But I think they rely on ticket sales for funding, so it's reasonable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    208
    46
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a tiny garden that unless you just want to sit and relax won't take much more than 30 minutes to see in full at a leisurely pace. But it's so completely worth it! Yes, it's $9.50 for adults but for what you get that is good value for money. There is a central pool area, a tea house, lots of rooms that host various special exhibits and beautiful plants everywhere. We have gone here several times and while the garden is at its best outside of Winter, even in Winter its still a great time. Everybody from kids to grand parents loved it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Every thing in this garden was brought from China, even the huge rocks that form the structure of the garden. I've been to China and seen the same there. It is beautifully and authentically designed and executed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is one of my favorite spots in all of Portland. They seem to have some programs going on all the time, my favorite is the New Years celebration. Knowledgeable guides can tell you about the building of the gardens, the flowers, anything you want to know. Stop by the tea house for a snack and one of the many teas they offer. Take a few minutes out of a busy day just to sit and enjoy the tranquility of this wonderful space.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

it's a beautiful place w/ amazing architecture. really a ton to see even though the space is really small. It's worth seeing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lan Su Chinese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lan Su Chinese Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.